The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 11:11am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Not that rare for me unfortunately... I have to enforce 8.7.T (i believe that's what it is in USA) at least twice a season... usually a perfectly laid-down bunt that they just toss to the pitcher without making a play on BR... BR blasts through 1B, trots back and decides to break for 2B...
So in this scenario, does it matter what happens first? In other words:

A. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle before the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

B. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle after the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

I'm sure that for "A", the BR would be out if she's heading towards first and then makes a break for second. But if the BR is already heading towards first and then the ball goes into the circle, doesn't the BR still have her one stop to make and then continue to first or head to second?

I must admit, I made this call during a HS playoff game last month. BR overran first as she easily beat out a bunt, turned right to come back, and then I saw the first base coach look over at the third base coach for a signal. The ball was in the circle, so I continued to watch what was going to happen. First base coach said something to the BR, and the BR continued to the bag, stopped short of it, then took off for second. I called Dead Ball and rang her up.

Third base coach came over to me and asked why I made that call, and I told her once the ball is in the circle and the BR is heading back toward first base, she's committed there and cannot take off for second. She replied that as long as the BR doesn't go all the way back to and touch first base, she can take off for second. I told her that was the college rule, but not the high school rule. She said her team had been executing that play all regular season, and I was the first to make the call. I told her to read the LBR in the book about the BR's responsibilities when she overruns first base. She said she would and get back to me. She never did.

But as I thought about it later on, I wondered if I should've noted the timing between when the ball entered the circle and when the BR made her turn at first to come back. I didn't notice it during the game, and I think it makes a difference.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
So in this scenario, does it matter what happens first? In other words:

A. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle before the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

B. BR overruns first base. Ball goes to the pitcher in the circle after the BR makes her turn and heads back to first base.

I'm sure that for "A", the BR would be out if she's heading towards first and then makes a break for second. But if the BR is already heading towards first and then the ball goes into the circle, doesn't the BR still have her one stop to make and then continue to first or head to second?



But as I thought about it later on, I wondered if I should've noted the timing between when the ball entered the circle and when the BR made her turn at first to come back. I didn't notice it during the game, and I think it makes a difference.
The book says the runner's responsibilities are "while the pitcher has control ..."
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Manny, I've raised this exact question in the past on this here forum. The consensus, as I remember it, is when the BR reaches the end of her overrun and turns around, that constitutes the "one stop" entitled to her in the LBR.

Although it's not spelled out in the book, seems to me if she's already headed back to the base, and THEN the ball arrives in the circle, she has not used her one stop yet...

It's almost like if a runner is heading back to 3B, then the ball gets to the circle, is she not permitted to stop and head non-stop for home?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
The consensus, as I remember it, is when the BR reaches the end of her overrun and turns around, that constitutes the "one stop" entitled to her in the LBR.
I hope that is incorrect; unless you mean the runner stops at the turnaround.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 12, 2019, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Although it's not spelled out in the book, seems to me if she's already headed back to the base, and THEN the ball arrives in the circle, she has not used her one stop yet...

It's almost like if a runner is heading back to 3B, then the ball gets to the circle, is she not permitted to stop and head non-stop for home?
This is a good point. In NCAA, it's explicitly spelled out that the return to 1B is live until she gets there. Fed/USA are clear in that this is not permitted. But wait: If a BR is moving to 1B from an overrun to RF when the ball reaches the circle, should she not be permitted her one stop and "decide"? LBR (and its associated one stop) is not in effect until the ball is in the circle in the possession and control of F1 (definitions of possession/control may vary between codes). This is an....interesting point. Rule dictates that even if she is on the move when the ball returns to F1 in the circle that the BR cannot advance to 2B after establishing a path back to 1B.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I hope that is incorrect; unless you mean the runner stops at the turnaround.
If the ball is in the circle in possession of F1, then yes, the turnaround is a stop since most runners do an about-face when turning around. Of course, continuing to move forward while turning is not a stop. At that point, we get to make the big bucks and determine where and which base the BR was moving towards.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Wed Jun 12, 2019 at 11:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 19, 2019, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
The interpretation I've heard is that a change of direction is considered a "stop".

Because if you're going one way, you have to "stop" going that way to go a different way.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 20, 2019, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
The interpretation I've heard is that a change of direction is considered a "stop".

Because if you're going one way, you have to "stop" going that way to go a different way.
Andy, I'll take this to it's logical extreme....what about a "loop"? A runner could turn all the way around back to 1B by running in a short circle without stopping, then proceed in the direction of 2B by curling the other way, again without stopping.

In this TWP situation, I'm going to judge an attempt to advance towards a particular base (and commitment to that base) when the runner is headed in that direction, but by rule if I run figure-eights all the way to 2B, have I ever stopped??
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 5-1-1: Bizarre state rule interpretation? WestCoaster Football 23 Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:04pm
hesitation JohnDorian37 Baseball 10 Mon May 16, 2011 01:34pm
Can a "hesitation" Be Legal? Spence Baseball 2 Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:40am
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Hesitation sprivitor Softball 3 Tue May 17, 2005 10:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1