![]() |
There was actually two scenarios this weekend that I was curious about and I think they got it wrong both times?
* where with bases loaded, what appeared to be ball 4 - catcher then tagged runner jogging home and then asked for appeal at 1B - umpire at 1B called the strike and they awarded the out. With rationale that they never said "ball 4 take your base" but it was ball 4 because home plate ump called it a ball. * The other was on like a 1-2 count, ball in dirt, she kind of check swings ball hits off catcher and goes away umpire at home did not call ball, catcher goes and gets the ball, then tags runner then asks for appeal. Home ump didnt grant appeal saying needed to do it right away. |
Quote:
Quote:
In this situation, has the umpire put the batter-runner in jeopardy by calling a ball, causing the batter-runner not to run to first and to be tagged out? Coincidentally, if a runner attempts a steal, is tagged out, and then the batter is called out on an appealed strike 3, the batter becomes the third out instead of the runner. |
Quote:
Changing the call does relate to umpire jeopardy, R1 back to 3rd, batter out if strike 3. |
Quote:
Did the PU call anything? :confused: "tags runner then asks for appeal" apparently appealing the check swing, or maybe the BR not reaching 1st; but like I said, confusing. :rolleyes: "needed to do it right away" :eek: :eek: An appeal can be until the next pitch, or all leaving field. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11pm. |