![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________________________________________ _______ There are 2 other possible ways of supporting only the batter-runner being called out with interference at the plate. 1. Rule 8.2 is headlined as "The batter-runner is out". When you then go to 8.2.G it states if this is an attempt to prevent an out at home plate Effect; "the runner is also out." Because the word also is used, this implies, but could have been more clearly stated, that the batter runner is out "when the batter runner interferes" 2. RS 33-A.1: reads: Runner interference includes - A runner or batter-runner who interferes with a fielder executing a play. I would interpret both of these statements to have the batter runner out for the situation in the OP, and if the umpire judges the batter-runner attempted to prevent the out at home plate, a 2nd out would be called on the runner (8.2.G). Last edited by josephrt1; Mon Jun 18, 2018 at 07:49am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Agreed. It would be nice to see 8.2.F add a statement like this: "7. with a play at home plate"
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Completely inverse play: A couple of years ago there was a case study, maybe presented at ASA clinic; Catcher retrieved a dropped 3rd strike and was standing on the plate in act of throwing to 1st base when runner from 3rd slides into catcher and knocks her down. The instruction was this was interference with a fielder in possession of the ball in the act of throwing. Runner sliding in is out. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
For your inverse play, the clinic got it wrong. If the catcher was on the plate and slid into this is interference by a runner who has scored. She can't be out. It's got to be the lead runner who is out here. |
|
|||
|
Not sure what you are commenting on. I agreed with MTD that in the play he described it would be obstruction. [also there was no discussion of "about to get it". Only confirming that in his play there was no apparent play at the plate because as he stated, the catcher did not have the ball, thus obstruction rather than interference.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Dropped bat interferes with a play at the plate... | Dakota | Softball | 8 | Thu Sep 28, 2006 10:05am |
| Play at home | Rachel | Softball | 10 | Sat May 28, 2005 01:05pm |
| Play at home | rodneyw | Baseball | 12 | Tue May 24, 2005 02:14pm |
| 10U play at home | Dakota | Softball | 4 | Tue Jun 08, 2004 06:17am |
| Play at Home | TCBuffy | Softball | 6 | Thu May 29, 2003 11:05am |