The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 166
Send a message via Yahoo to agr8zebra
Please take this quiz

I am looking for some data about our knowledge of the use of the lineup card in NFHS games.

Please take a couple of minutes to answer 3 question.


https://goo.gl/forms/X5SsbD4mE3JYoWBo2

Thanks,
Jess
__________________
Jess

After all that is said and done, more is said than done
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra View Post
I am looking for some data about our knowledge of the use of the lineup card in NFHS games.

Please take a couple of minutes to answer 3 question.


https://goo.gl/forms/X5SsbD4mE3JYoWBo2

Thanks,
Jess
1 - too hard to read,

2- D

3 - none of the above
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
Wow. I'm a dumb coach and got 3/3 score.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 05:52pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 516
There is no correct answer for 3 as this is not an unreported sub. It was reported to the umpire but they didn't do their job.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
There is no correct answer for 3 as this is not an unreported sub. It was reported to the umpire but they didn't do their job.
True, but I think the point of the quiz is to see how you would handle the unthinkable if it happens. The game must continue. You have to pick one of those options.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 572
Not unreported. It was reported to the umpire. All play stands. Apologize if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountaincoach View Post
True, but I think the point of the quiz is to see how you would handle the unthinkable if it happens. The game must continue. You have to pick one of those options.
I think you have to choose a correct option, not one of those listed.
The correct option is umpire mistake, no effect on the team with the sub and no recognizable jeopardy for the umpires to correct.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 03:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 166
Send a message via Yahoo to agr8zebra
Question #1 Yes, the line-up card supplied at the coaches pre-game conference should be accepted.

Question #2 D is the correct answer, though I think we have all thought we will just write it down later. Reporting to the opposing team, in this case, the visitor coach is a rule requirement. Rule 3-1-3. If you would have caught the line-up error of #5 not being listed it would be a quick resolution.

Question #3 B, I think after you screwed up in your logic of the question #2 if "C" was your actions/answer, you should apologize. If you had done what was required there would be no need for question #3.

Backstory, an elimination game in one of our state's championships questions 1, 2 and 3 happened. The lineup was presented with #5 missing, something similar to question #2 happened, which resulted in the question #3, with the coach calling it an ILLEGAL SUBSTITUTION. It got ugly and complicated (50-minute delay) with a UIC being called to the field, multiple calls to a State Director. The big problem, the visiting coach simply not being able to accept the ruling.

Luckily I was working an 11 inning 3+ hour game on another field wondering why they couldn't finish the 7th.

Like I said it would have never got to the problem in the 7th if good record keeping practices would have been followed.
__________________
Jess

After all that is said and done, more is said than done
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 03:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by agr8zebra View Post
It got ugly and complicated (50-minute delay) with a UIC being called to the field, multiple calls to a State Director. The big problem, the visiting coach simply not being able to accept the ruling.
I let coaches vent too long when I've made a mistake, but 50 minutes is insane. Run the coach and start playing ball again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 23, 2018, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Not unreported. It was reported to the umpire. All play stands. Apologize if you want.
I would also issue the warning at this point. #5 still has to go on my card and that means I'm changing it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 572
apologies for the confusion, youngump... my ruling is based on the premise that the umpire did enter the change on the line-up sheet (between innings, and before the play in question), but failed to notify the opposing coach.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
apologies for the confusion, youngump... my ruling is based on the premise that the umpire did enter the change on the line-up sheet (between innings, and before the play in question), but failed to notify the opposing coach.
Your clarification raises an interesting tangential play to my mind.

Lineup is submitted with two players left off; 1 & 2. In the 3rd inning, 1 is entered for 3 and the umpire fails to note that 1 wasn't on the card or to report it. Then in the 5th inning 2 enters for 4 and the umpire correctly warns, enters, and reports. Now in the seventh the defense protests that 1 is illegally in for 3. Would you restrict?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
apologies for the confusion, youngump... my ruling is based on the premise that the umpire did enter the change on the line-up sheet (between innings, and before the play in question), but failed to notify the opposing coach.
Entering it is for the record. As long as the team reported the sub to the umpire, it counts.
Of course, there is then the warning for the sub not being listed.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Your clarification raises an interesting tangential play to my mind.

Lineup is submitted with two players left off; 1 & 2. In the 3rd inning, 1 is entered for 3 and the umpire fails to note that 1 wasn't on the card or to report it. Then in the 5th inning 2 enters for 4 and the umpire correctly warns, enters, and reports. Now in the seventh the defense protests that 1 is illegally in for 3. Would you restrict?
the umpire fails to note that 1 wasn't on the card

or to report it.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2018, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Your clarification raises an interesting tangential play to my mind.

Lineup is submitted with two players left off; 1 & 2. In the 3rd inning, 1 is entered for 3 and the umpire fails to note that 1 wasn't on the card or to report it. Then in the 5th inning 2 enters for 4 and the umpire correctly warns, enters, and reports. Now in the seventh the defense protests that 1 is illegally in for 3. Would you restrict?
Do you mean unreported or illegal for some other reason.
Unreported sub is now in the game, should have been noted as unreported.

The defense can protest an unreported sub as long as they are in the game.
So, yes, restrict and hope they have another sub or #3 can re-enter.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quiz wanja Basketball 4 Tue Jun 10, 2008 08:04pm
Quiz me! DC_Ref12 Basketball 64 Fri Mar 09, 2007 06:22am
CO Quiz WestMichBlue Softball 47 Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:00am
quiz yankeesfan Basketball 0 Tue Oct 25, 2005 07:36pm
Feb Quiz James Neil Football 21 Tue Mar 04, 2003 04:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1