The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 20, 2018, 04:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 6
obstruction or not

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 1st no outs. Defense puts a play on. R2 attempts to steal 2nd and catcher throws to F4 and draws F4 into path of R2 and a slight collision occurs with ball in flight. Based on rule 8-1-3e I see obstruction. When would we ignore and call this incidental contact?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 20, 2018, 07:26am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Six_DanO View Post
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 1st no outs. Defense puts a play on. R2 attempts to steal 2nd and catcher throws to F4 and draws F4 into path of R2 and a slight collision occurs with ball in flight. Based on rule 8-1-3e I see obstruction. When would we ignore and call this incidental contact?
What rule set are you playing by? In NFHS (and likely USA), it only becomes incidental contact when the ball is in the fielder's possession prior to the runner colliding with the fielder. A fielder risks an obstruction call when she gets into the runner's path while waiting for a throw or is in the act of catching that throw. But once she catches the ball, she's good to go.

In NCAA play, it becomes obstruction when F4 blocks the runner's path without the ball, even if she subsequently catches the throw before the runner runs into her.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 20, 2018, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Six_DanO View Post
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 1st no outs. Defense puts a play on. R2 attempts to steal 2nd and catcher throws to F4 and draws F4 into path of R2 and a slight collision occurs with ball in flight. Based on rule 8-1-3e I see obstruction. When would we ignore and call this incidental contact?
The contact is irrelevant. Either a defender without possession of the ball impeded the runner or didn't. If it did, OBS; if not, play on
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction? MrRabbit Softball 18 Wed Aug 22, 2012 07:20am
Does anyone have obstruction here? Stu Clary Baseball 8 Wed Aug 17, 2011 12:27pm
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 6 Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm
obstruction scyguy Baseball 7 Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm
NSA / Obstruction Bandit Softball 4 Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1