The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2018, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Teebob, collisions in nfhs are only ejections if you deem the contact to be malicious. There is nothing in the rules about being an automatic ejection for contact.

Case play 8.4.3.Sit F even discusses a play at home with a collision. the play is either an out if the catcher maintains possession of the ball, or obstruction if the catcher drops the ball. It says it is simply viewed as a collision.

Last edited by RKBUmp; Sun Mar 25, 2018 at 01:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2018, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Case play 8.4.3.Sit F even discusses a play at home with a collision. the play is either an out if the catcher maintains possession of the ball, or obstruction if the catcher drops the ball. It says it is simply viewed as a collision.
RKB,

I think if F2 had the ball for a split second and drops it, it's a collision (a). If F2 never had the ball, the ruling should be OBS (b).

With something as bang-bang as that play describes, I think the old ASA description I posted in the original post makes the most sense. But, this is NFHS you're talking about...
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 25, 2018, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Even if f2 did have the ball once they lose possession of the ball it becomes obstruction if they hinder the runners access to the base.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 26, 2018, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
Teebob, collisions in nfhs are only ejections if you deem the contact to be malicious. There is nothing in the rules about being an automatic ejection for contact.

Case play 8.4.3.Sit F even discusses a play at home with a collision. the play is either an out if the catcher maintains possession of the ball, or obstruction if the catcher drops the ball. It says it is simply viewed as a collision.
I'll have to review the Fed rule again; I may have an out-of-date interpretation in my head. I was speaking only of collisions initiated by the runner, not incidental contact or the colloquial "wreck". This thread has also made me discover that my 2018 HS rule book is not in my bag, as I had assumed. :| Time to go find it.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 28, 2018, 11:22am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
I'll have to review the Fed rule again; I may have an out-of-date interpretation in my head. I was speaking only of collisions initiated by the runner, not incidental contact or the colloquial "wreck".
Aren't all collisions pretty much initiated by the runner? They're usually the ones in motion trying to get to a base while the fielder is already there trying to field the throw, have the ball in their possession, and/or are waiting to make the tag.

I always thought that the situation was pretty clear in NFHS play. Take away any maliciousness by the runner, it can only be one of three things:

1. Fielder doesn't have the ball in her possession, runner runs into her: Obstruction.

2. Fielder has possession of the ball and almost simultaneously the runner runs into her: Collision. Runner is out or safe depending if the fielder maintains possession and tags runner or base before runner touches the base.

3. Fielder has possession of the ball and turns to make an immediate play, then the runner runs into her: Violation of 8-6-13, runner is out even if the ball becomes dislodged.

USA is a little murkier because rule 8-7-Q talks of a runner crashing into a fielder who has the ball in his/her possession, which is considered interference. But RS#13 specifically mentions the fielder "waiting to apply a tag". So if the fielder gains possession of the ball a split second before the runner contacts her standing up, is it interference under 8-7-Q, or is it just softball since the fielder isn't waiting to apply a tag? My guess is that it's the latter, but it sure would be nice if there was an actual play or clarification that says that. Irish said there used to be language about simultaneous arrivals in the ASA book that was removed in 2014, but really didn't explain why.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay sanction Sco53 Volleyball 2 Sun Nov 24, 2013 07:32pm
Train wrecks happen in baseball...Get over it ! nickrego Baseball 26 Sat May 19, 2007 05:48pm
Train Wrecks whiskers_ump Softball 16 Thu Mar 03, 2005 02:48pm
Train Wrecks whiskers_ump Softball 8 Fri May 21, 2004 12:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1