The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 03, 2017, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 628
retired BR

R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B, no outs.
Looper to shallow RF. F9 bobbles, then corrals it in.

Fires to F3, who dives at 1B and tags it with glove.

R2, in no-man's land, gets doubled off 1B by the appeal throw (very close play).

BR is standing on 1B as the throw comes in.

If (IMJ), BR's foot blocked F3's access to 1B, would we have a retired runner INT, R1 out?

Or is retired BR handled differently than retired R?

(I'm guessing, if BR stepped off the bag, toward F3, to block the glove touch, it would be a no-brainer INT)

Last edited by jmkupka; Mon Jul 03, 2017 at 07:54am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 03, 2017, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B, no outs.
Looper to shallow RF. F9 bobbles, then corrals it in.

Fires to F3, who dives at 1B and tags it with glove.

R2, in no-man's land, gets doubled off 1B by the appeal throw (very close play).

BR is standing on 1B as the throw comes in.

If (IMJ), BR's foot blocked F3's access to 1B, would we have a retired runner INT, R1 out?

Or is retired BR handled differently than retired R?

(I'm guessing, if BR stepped off the bag, toward F3, to block the glove touch, it would be a no-brainer INT)
Apparently, BR is out on the fly ball catch, so retired runner rule applies.

The question is then who is out. By 8-7-N, it's the runner closest to home.
That becomes a timing play.

Someone say it's not that complicated.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 06, 2017, 10:19am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Apparently, BR is out on the fly ball catch, so retired runner rule applies.

The question is then who is out. By 8-7-N, it's the runner closest to home.
That becomes a timing play.

Someone say it's not that complicated.
Sounds to me like you nailed it. And there really is no distinction between a retired BR and a retired runner, AFAIK.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 06, 2017, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 628
Thanks guys,
AFA the timing issue, wasn't a problem as R1 had to stay close to 3B due to the shallow fly ball...

Guarantee there's not a coach around who would expect an umpire to say, "INT on the retired batter, runner on 3B is also out."

some day... some day...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 06, 2017, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Thanks guys,
AFA the timing issue, wasn't a problem as R1 had to stay close to 3B due to the shallow fly ball...

Guarantee there's not a coach around who would expect an umpire to say, "INT on the retired batter, runner on 3B is also out."

some day... some day...
In my HS umpire class they told us to get ready to run to your car after making that (correct) call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 06, 2017, 02:42pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,333
Okay, now that I think about this a little more, we usually don't hold a retired runner accountable for still being in live ball territory after being retired. For example, when R1 is put out at second base on the front end of a DP, he/she isn't expected to disappear when the pivot person's throw is headed to first base, and it hits the retired runner. If he/she does something intentional, that's a different story. But if he/she is simply continuing to run following his/her putout, and inadvertently gets in the way of a play, that's typically not interference.

So in your play, if the retired BR really had no chance to get out of the way of the play, is it an infraction?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 06, 2017, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 628
yup, that's why I put the blurb at the end OP... having BR foot in the dirt next to the bag, blocking the glove tag of the base, is an easier call.
But just standing on the bag, and covering the area that F3 is diving to?
Remember, BR didn't have to be standing there. Could have overrun 1B.

Last edited by jmkupka; Thu Jul 06, 2017 at 03:18pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retired BR interference urgone Baseball 11 Sat Jun 15, 2013 12:04am
Retired B/R continues to 2B scarolinablue Baseball 21 Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:02am
Its Official - I've retired ranjo Basketball 28 Mon May 05, 2008 11:18am
123 + 86 = retired JugglingReferee Football 4 Fri Aug 04, 2006 03:41pm
retired runner CecilOne Softball 16 Tue Apr 25, 2006 09:23am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1