The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2017, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
What's the Call?

I'm not a blue, but here ya go...

Watching Texas Tech v Baylor... Batter swings through strike 3 but pitch bounces off F2's glove and on the ricochet hits the bat while still in the batter's hands and batter still in the box. The contact with the bat sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory and batter beats the throw to 1B. What's the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2017, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I believe that in NCAA softball- unlike most other amateur rule sets- interference with an uncaught third strike must be judged as intentional. So there's no rule violation here and the batter-runner is safe.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 31, 2017, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
I believe that in NCAA softball- unlike most other amateur rule sets- interference with an uncaught third strike must be judged as intentional. So there's no rule violation here and the batter-runner is safe.
Bret is correct.

Too lazy to go to the car and get the current book, but 2014-15 NCAA rule 11.22.9: THE BATTER IS OUT WHEN: The batter swings and misses a pitched ball and then intentionally hits it on a second swing or after it bounces off the catcher or her glove/mitt. (Emphasis mine)
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 20
Interesting....you guys are pointing the rule that I eventually found and so I was confused when...

In real time the PU called the batter out. OC comes out to discuss and then PU huddles with BU's for quite some time. At the end of their discussion, both OC and DC are called in for further discussion. OC is then sent to dugout for a rule book. With rule book the three umpires huddle again. Following that huddle, batter is again ruled out. I could not stick around for the full game so I don't know if an explanation was ever provided to the broadcast booth.

I don't think there is any way the INT could be judged as intentional as the batter was never looking back at F2 to see what was happening. She swung through, then brought the bat back and had it more or less down at her waist with both hands still on it when the contact occurred. Only then did she seem to realize what had happened and took off to 1B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
It is time to get rid of the U3K. There is no real reason for it to exist
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
It is time to get rid of the U3K. There is no real reason for it to exist
Do you see that happening?? Not likely. Everyone wants to have their time to do what the preceding generations have done. You know, the tales of brave Ulysses and glory days. Tradition!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Northeast Nebraska
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit4power View Post
Interesting....you guys are pointing the rule that I eventually found and so I was confused when...

In real time the PU called the batter out. OC comes out to discuss and then PU huddles with BU's for quite some time. At the end of their discussion, both OC and DC are called in for further discussion. OC is then sent to dugout for a rule book. With rule book the three umpires huddle again. Following that huddle, batter is again ruled out. I could not stick around for the full game so I don't know if an explanation was ever provided to the broadcast booth.

I don't think there is any way the INT could be judged as intentional as the batter was never looking back at F2 to see what was happening. She swung through, then brought the bat back and had it more or less down at her waist with both hands still on it when the contact occurred. Only then did she seem to realize what had happened and took off to 1B.
If D1 umpires went to the book on the field, then there was a protest.

From your description the proper protest procedure was followed. Rule 7.2; NCAA. Only rules can be protested, not judgment. (Exception 7.2.3; protests may involve rules+judgment if a judgment call is made using a misapplied rule.)

First the "offended" coach claims that the umpires have made a rule misinterpretation. Next, the coach must indicate which rule has been improperly applied. This is where the book comes out. Then the crew gets together with the book, at which time the OC and DC can provide input (<< I honestly don't understand this part, but whatever.) Finally, a ruling is communicated to both teams. EDIT TO ADD: If the offended team still doesn't like the result, they can continue play under protest provided they file a written report after the game.

There is rule support for an INT out here. Again from the 14-15 book, because I am still lazy 12.19.1.3: The batter runner may not interfere with the catcher's attempt to field a third strike. This rule does not require intent. If that was the rule by which the BR was declared out, I think the out properly stands.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."

Last edited by teebob21; Sat Apr 01, 2017 at 10:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 02, 2017, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
12.19.1.3: The batter runner may not interfere with the catcher's attempt to field a third strike. This rule does not require intent. If that was the rule by which the BR was declared out, I think the out properly stands.
What about the next couple of sentences from that rule?

12.19.1.3 The batter-runner may not interfere with the catcher’s attempt to field a third strike.
Note: If both players’ actions are appropriate to the situation and contact could not be avoided, it is incidental contact and neither interference nor obstruction.
A.R. 12.19.1.3: The batter-runner unintentionally kicks the ball that had deflected off the catcher who attempted to field a dropped third strike. RULING: Live ball, no interference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit4power View Post
I'm not a blue, but here ya go...

Watching Texas Tech v Baylor... Batter swings through strike 3 but pitch bounces off F2's glove and on the ricochet hits the bat while still in the batter's hands and batter still in the box. The contact with the bat sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory and batter beats the throw to 1B. What's the call?
I am going to assume "on the ricochet" means the ball went from the catcher's glove to the bat. If that is the case, then the stipulations for D3k are not met, meaning the pitch it the bat a second time. Dead ball, strike. In this case, strike three, batter out.

A.R. 11-0: The batter swings and misses the pitch; however, on her follow through, the pitch contacts the bat and rolls into fair territory. RULING: Dead ball strike. Base runners must return to their bases at the time of the pitch. If contact is intentional, the batter is declared out.

Dropped Third Strike. 11-14-1 When with fewer than two outs and first base occupied, the catcher fails to catch a third strike before the ball touches the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyoump View Post
I am going to assume "on the ricochet" means the ball went from the catcher's glove to the bat. If that is the case, then the stipulations for D3k are not met, meaning the pitch it the bat a second time. Dead ball, strike. In this case, strike three, batter out.

A.R. 11-0: The batter swings and misses the pitch; however, on her follow through, the pitch contacts the bat and rolls into fair territory. RULING: Dead ball strike. Base runners must return to their bases at the time of the pitch. If contact is intentional, the batter is declared out.

Dropped Third Strike. 11-14-1 When with fewer than two outs and first base occupied, the catcher fails to catch a third strike before the ball touches the ground.
How are the stipulations not met? The ball was the 3rd strike and it was not caught by the catcher before it hit the ground.

This is not the same as AR 11-0, as the ball rebounded off the catcher and into the bat.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2017, 11:03am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by hit4power View Post
I'm not a blue, but here ya go...

Watching Texas Tech v Baylor... Batter swings through strike 3 but pitch bounces off F2's glove and on the ricochet hits the bat while still in the batter's hands and batter still in the box. The contact with the bat sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory and batter beats the throw to 1B. What's the call?
NCAA Rule 11.14.3 seems to be appropriate here:

Quote:
11.14.3 The batter may not swing and miss a pitch and then accidentally hit it on the follow-through or after it bounces off the catcher or her glove/mitt.
EFFECT—The ball is dead. The pitch is a strike. The batter is declared out if the pitch was a third strike; otherwise, she remains at bat. Each base runner must return to the base legally occupied at the time of the pitch.
Seems to me they got the call right.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 05, 2017, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
NCAA Rule 11.14.3 seems to be appropriate here:



Seems to me they got the call right.
Is it relevant whether the ball hit bat or bat hit ball?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 06, 2017, 11:21am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Is it relevant whether the ball hit bat or bat hit ball?
Yes. If the catcher fails to catch the third strike, and the ball moves forward into the BR or her bat, then the BR would not be guilty of interference.

But the way I read the OP, specifically the part where it says the bat "sends the ball down the first base line in foul territory", I'm envisioning a "bat hit ball" situation, and not the other way around.

It's really a HTBT to judge. Seems to me if the umpires got together, referred to the rule book, and still called the BR out, they must have felt that the bat contacted the ball.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video) pfan1981 Basketball 23 Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:48pm
State Playoffs - Call or No Call Blindolbat Basketball 33 Sun Mar 10, 2013 08:19am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1