The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 29, 2003, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Question

How do you interpret the following rule (ASA 8-2-D, FED 8.2.4)
The batter-runner shall eb called out when: the batter-runner fails to advance to 1st base and enters the team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls, a hit batter (F.P.) , a droppred third strike (F.P.), or catcher obstruction.
Exception: (s.P.) The ball is dead on a base on balls, or on a hit batter (F.P.) the ball is dead , the batter-runner is not out and runners cannot advance unless forced
.

Does the exception override the rule thus making it ok for the BR to enter the dugout after a HBP (the only ruling that makes sense to me, BTW). If so why go to the trouble to put it into the rule at all?

SamC
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1