The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Sep 25, 2003, 09:46am
Official Forum Member

I was just wondering what you guys all thought about a coach asking the catcher if the last pitch was a stike or not. (after it was called a ball) Maybe not directly but asking where it was, or something similar. As a coach I would never put my catcher in that position with the umpire but I do see it once in awhile. Brian
Old Thu Sep 25, 2003, 10:09am
In Memoriam

Quote:
Originally posted by bethsdad
I was just wondering what you guys all thought about a coach asking the catcher if the last pitch was a stike or not. (after it was called a ball) Maybe not directly but asking where it was, or something similar. As a coach I would never put my catcher in that position with the umpire but I do see it once in awhile. Brian
You are correct. That's pretty weak "coach speak" just to aggravate an umpire, and it puts the intelligent catcher in a tough spot.

The coach may ask the question, but it is the catcher's answer, or lack of response, that may affect the relationship between the plate ump and F2, and the relationship between the plate and the zone.

It would be a better conversation to have in the dugout.

mick
Old Thu Sep 25, 2003, 10:13am
Official Forum Member

As a coach at the varisty level I have asked my catcher this before, usually out of frustration if I think the zone is inconsistent, which is not very often. The coach doesn't have the best angle on the field when it comes to balls and strikes and when I ask I am just trying to get an idea of the zone. I usually don't ask during the inning, but will talk to my catcher when she comes in, and make the adjustment, like setting up more on the plate if we aren't getting the outside pitch.