The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 24, 2003, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by mo99
DEAD BALL!!! Foot still in batters box when ball hits batter.Foul ball,the count is now 3 balls 1 strike.Batter must be completely out of the batters box when batted ball hits him/her to be called out.
Jeff



[Edited by mo99 on Sep 24th, 2003 at 04:13 PM]
Speaking ASA

Jeff,

Can you cite the rule you are basing this upon? I can find no such qualification.

ASA Rule 8.3.F supports an out call in this instance as does a comment under Dead Ball Situations-Ball Off Batter's Foot on page 221 of the 2003 rule book.
"If the batter, after hitting the ball into fair territory, takes a step out of the batter's box and then comes in contact with the ball, the batter is out."

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1