Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  RKBUmp
					 
				 
				A fielder not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding a batted ball may not impede the progress of a runner.  In the play described F6 neither had the ball nor was in the process of fielding a batted ball and cannot impede the runner.  How are you going to explain to a coach your reason for not calling obstruction?  You may not like the rule in this particular situation, but it is our job to enforce the rules as written. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Coach:  Blue, my runner was obstructed coming off of 2nd base.
Umpire: Didn't see it coach, I was watching the third baseman tag 3rd base for the out.