The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 18, 2016, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
This is straight from the published ASA Case Book, the sole purpose of which is to clarify and explain the playing rules.

With one out and R1 on second base, R2 on first base, B3 hits an apparent infield fly. The umpire does not call "infield fly". The fly ball is not caught and in the confusion both R1 and R2 are tagged off base resulting in three outs.

RULING: The infield fly should have been in effect. Failure of the umpire to invoke the infield fly placed the runners in jeopardy. This is correctable by calling the batter out and returning the runners to their respective bases (see rule 10-3C).


It can't be much more plain than that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infield Fly Rule Centerfield9 Softball 25 Mon Aug 19, 2013 07:42pm
Infield fly rule Slappy Softball 4 Sat May 31, 2008 09:58am
Infield fly rule roadking Softball 5 Mon May 05, 2008 09:35pm
Infield fly rule Cindylou Softball 20 Fri Apr 02, 2004 04:50pm
Infield Fly Rule Bandit Softball 13 Mon Dec 15, 2003 01:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1