The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   BR: Out or Safe? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101479-br-out-safe.html)

teebob21 Tue Jul 12, 2016 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 989082)
I see it a bit differently.

The BR legally avoided a tag at ~7 sec point of the video, and overran and missed the base at ~ 8 sec point, and returned to touch the base before being tagged (assuming this was a legal live ball appeal) at ~9 sec.

At this point, the BR has overrun the base and returned to touch the base.

....snip...

Suppose there was no play being made, and a batter-runner made a little circle around 1B, reached down and touched the bag from the right field side, and then stepped back and just stood there, slowly shuffling toward the base. Would you consider the runner to be protected as a BR who has overrun 1B? I think the answer to that is, essentially, where you and I would disagree.

I see the overrun as his first time past the bag; you see this as a circuitous route to the bag where the touch is the first time past the bag.

I enjoy discussing differences of judgment and opinion like this, which is why I posted the play. I would agree with your whole interpretation if I thought the runner overran the base at 0:08. In your circuitous BR example, yes, I would judge his step back towards right field as a legally protected overrun. I don't have rule support to do otherwise, and 8-7-T (look back rule) covers what the BR may or may not do after moving toward right field.

Under ASA, 8-8-I says the runner is not out if he overruns first base after touching it. It is clear he does not touch it. I am interested in any other rule citations that say we should judge this an overrun. It could change my entire perspective on this play.

Dakota Tue Jul 12, 2016 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 989083)
I enjoy discussing differences of judgment and opinion like this, which is why I posted the play. I would agree with your whole interpretation if I thought the runner overran the base at 0:08. In your circuitous BR example, yes, I would judge his step back towards right field as a legally protected overrun. I don't have rule support to do otherwise, and 8-7-T (look back rule) covers what the BR may or may not do after moving toward right field.

Under ASA, 8-8-I says the runner is not out if he overruns first base after touching it. It is clear he does not touch it. I am interested in any other rule citations that say we should judge this an overrun. It could change my entire perspective on this play.

Yeah, I like to discuss these kinds of plays, too, and having a real video to look at helps overcome our usual limitations with verbal descriptions.

I doubt you will find a rule to clarify things, since I don't believe "overrun" is defined in the book.

I'm just basing it on "did the runner pass the base or not"?

If the runner passed the base, he must have either overrun or rounded.

If circling around the base by a few feet and coming back at it from the other side is not passing the base, how long of a circle around does it have to be before is does become passing the base?

BTW, it does seem like the MLB umpire agrees with your judgment on this... :o

youngump Tue Jul 12, 2016 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 989078)
When does a BR stop being a BR? The definition says that happens when they are put out or reach 1B.

If truly is at the time of reaching first base, then no one can legally overrun 1B, as it would mean you reached the base and are no longer a BR! I think this definition requires some subtlety in interpretation.

It requires not intentionally stretching it too far. The BR, the guy going to first can overrun first. Once he does he isn't a BR anymore. But the overrun protection keeps applying to him until he gets back or goes to second (or doesn't return directly.)

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 989078)
However, 8-8-I requires the BR to touch it. That isn't the case here so it isn't applicable on the "first" overrun.

8-8-I doesn't define overrunning nor does it require the BR to touch anything. What it does is says that the BR is not out if they overrun first after touching it. The touching is required to get the protection not to be considered overrunning.

youngump Tue Jul 12, 2016 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 989083)
Under ASA, 8-8-I says the runner is not out if he overruns first base after touching it. It is clear he does not touch it. I am interested in any other rule citations that say we should judge this an overrun. It could change my entire perspective on this play.

So you mentioned the lookback rule. Are you really trying to argue that if the pitcher has the ball and the BR overruns first and misses it then turns right they can go to second? Or maybe the lookback rule doesn't apply at all?


Here's another one. Runner rounds first and misses the bag on the way. She gets to second coach yells at her to hustle back. She runs back to first and doesn't hold the bag and is tagged out. Are you saying that's an overrun? If not why not?


Going just one further though, speaking just softball and not baseball this video is at best an overslide not an overrun and there is no oversliding first exception in ASA as there is in OBR.

teebob21 Tue Jul 12, 2016 04:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 989091)
So you mentioned the lookback rule. Are you really trying to argue that if the pitcher has the ball and the BR overruns first and misses it then turns right they can go to second? Or maybe the lookback rule doesn't apply at all?


Here's another one. Runner rounds first and misses the bag on the way. She gets to second coach yells at her to hustle back. She runs back to first and doesn't hold the bag and is tagged out. Are you saying that's an overrun? If not why not?


Going just one further though, speaking just softball and not baseball this video is at best an overslide not an overrun and there is no oversliding first exception in ASA as there is in OBR.

The ball is dead and the batter-runner is out. 8-7-T-3-C-5. I was simply pointing out that other rules specify the actions that an over-running batter-runner may or may not do.

The player is no longer entitled to overrun protection as she has attempted to advance to 2B. The runner is out as a live-ball appeal for the missed base if they tagged her before the retouch of 1B, out as an overslide if off the bag. 8-7-H, 8-7-B

The current ASA rule book is a bit ambiguous whether "slides beyond or loses contact with a base" requires a slide. My oldest still-all-in-one piece book is 2005 and back then there was overslide protection. No longer relevant except to point out that the old wording referred specifically to sliding. There is no use of the word overslide (that I can find) in the rest of the book. If this is not an overrun under 8-8-I, then OK, this could be an overslide out under 8-7-B. I am still curious how we can adjudge the batter-runner overrunning 1B without a touch as spelled out in 8-8-I, though.

Per the other comment that 8-8-I doesn't define overrunning, that's the rule that the index sends me to when I lookup Overrunning First Base. Also RS#37.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jul 12, 2016 08:22pm

Speaking ASA

To start, I would question it not being out of base path, but no one is going to have an angle to sell that.

BR passed and missed the base. Appeal available.

F3 obviously pursuing that play. Runner safely returns. Unfortunately, while the ball is live voluntarily leaves the base and is legally tagged out.

youngump Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 989093)
The ball is dead and the batter-runner is out. 8-7-T-3-C-5. I was simply pointing out that other rules specify the actions that an over-running batter-runner may or may not do.

So in this case you agree the batter runner has reached first base and overrun it. So if she doesn't go toward second and instead returns to first and overruns it what do you have?

youngump Wed Jul 13, 2016 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 989093)
The player is no longer entitled to overrun protection as she has attempted to advance to 2B. The runner is out as a live-ball appeal for the missed base if they tagged her before the retouch of 1B, out as an overslide if off the bag. 8-7-H, 8-7-B

But she didn't attempt to advance to second after touching first and 8-8-I gives protection regardless of whether there was an earlier attempt to advance to second.

CecilOne Wed Jul 13, 2016 01:52pm

consensus
 
I like to find a consensus in topics, especially one like this with divergent comments on multiple tangents.

It looks like the consensus is that the BR actually does overrun 1st during his pivot, is safe with his hand touch, is out with the foot tag.

Also, consensus seems to be no attempt at 2nd; and for purpose of this discussion, ignored the 3 feet off path possibility.

CecilOne Wed Jul 13, 2016 02:13pm

BTW, a great example if the inconsistency of rules and terms (not to mention interpretations), both within and between books. :eek:

teebob21 Wed Jul 13, 2016 02:31pm

Irish - this is probably the best summary in layman's terms I've seen in the thread. I went back and re-watched the play after realizing I was 5 posts into this thread without seeing it again after my first post. I'll agree that this is an out under 8-7-B.

Youngump - I know you're trying to get me to think through the interpretation with evermore improbable scenarios, which is a good way to logically test the rules. However, I think we're beyond the pale on instances that apply to this play.

Cecil - Completely agree on the highlighting of inconsistencies. There are a number of points raised in this thread, and the ASA rules I cited, that could benefit from clarification, such as:

- Define "reaches a base": When this term is used in the book, it seems to include passing and touching.
- Define "passes a base": What is the point at which a base is considered passed, especially when there is no attempt to advance past it? The consensus seems to be the base line connecting the base in question and the next one, regardless of the direction the runner is moving. Other than common sense (which isn't always applicable :D) I can't find this in the book.
- Define the conditions for a legal overrun at 1B more clearly
- Live ball appeal requirements
- The Overslide definition

Et cetera...

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 13, 2016 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 989104)
So in this case you agree the batter runner has reached first base and overrun it. So if she doesn't go toward second and instead returns to first and overruns it what do you have?

Doesn't make any difference. As the rule requires, the runner already returned directly to the base. IMJ, after that, the runner leaves the base at his own risk.

youngump Wed Jul 13, 2016 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 989117)
Doesn't make any difference. As the rule requires, the runner already returned directly to the base. IMJ, after that, the runner leaves the base at his own risk.

That was my point, this was part of trying to convince TeeBob that you only get one overrun and it's your first time past whether you get the bag or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1