| 
		
			| Big Slick | Mon Jun 20, 2016 10:32am |  
 
	Quote: 
	
		| 
 
					Originally Posted by CecilOne
					(Post 988603)
				 Good, thanks.   Reporting is required, I know.   Discussion yesterday if reporting of DP playing defense for other than FLEX is required.  I think it is. 
 |  To which I say: what is the penalty?
 
4-3-e says the DP may play defense, and that person has not left the game.
 
The definition of substitute is " . .  left the game"
 
4-6-a is about reporting substitutions.
 
Doesn't need to be reported because this isn't a substitution. 
Additionally,  
4-1-a does say that " . .  The line up shall contain . . .  defensive positions . . "; however there is allowance to correct (without penalty) the other aspects of the line up card, such as name, number, and the list of substitutes.
 
Ergo,: what is the penalty?
 
I will only mark it down (ASA/NFHS) if the DP is catching or pitching, because this now is part of CR's.  And in discussion this weekend (training a new umpire with the line up card), there isn't a name for the person only hitting and not the DP (ASA/NFHS).  The infamous "TDP" was said, to which I immediately squashed, because the hitting only person could be confused as the DP and the flex could be used offensively for the wrong person.
 
NCAA is a must report, because there is a penalty for having an inaccurate line up card (including defensive positions).  Plus, NCAA now has the OP (offensive player). |