The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2016, 06:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
A legally scored run cannot be "unscored." If she touched 3rd and home, then going back toward 3rd base does not make her liable to be put out.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2016, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
A legally scored run cannot be "unscored." If she touched 3rd and home, then going back toward 3rd base does not make her liable to be put out.
My initial reaction was to agree with you and on the field I'll definitely be sticking with that. That said, for the purposes of discussion and understanding only:

R1 on 3rd is off with the pitch when B2 hits a monstrously high fly ball. Thinking adroitly, R1 continues home, touches home and then returns to 3rd where she is standing when the ball is caught.
She has touched all the bases without being out so why is this not a run under 5-5-A-1. (And this ignores Irish's regular point about the rules not even spelling out the order of the bases.)
For some reason, you've decided that a runner can unscore her run by retouching home and then 3rd if she missed third but not if she hit it. Is there anything in the rulebook to support that position? (With which I'll say again, I agree. It's clearly what they MEANT to write.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 08, 2016, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
My initial reaction was to agree with you and on the field I'll definitely be sticking with that. That said, for the purposes of discussion and understanding only:

R1 on 3rd is off with the pitch when B2 hits a monstrously high fly ball. Thinking adroitly, R1 continues home, touches home and then returns to 3rd where she is standing when the ball is caught.
She has touched all the bases without being out so why is this not a run under 5-5-A-1. (And this ignores Irish's regular point about the rules not even spelling out the order of the bases.)
For some reason, you've decided that a runner can unscore her run by retouching home and then 3rd if she missed third but not if she hit it. Is there anything in the rulebook to support that position? (With which I'll say again, I agree. It's clearly what they MEANT to write.)
Not a legal score if R1 left 3rd before the catch, just an attempt to advance.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miss St @ Ole Miss (Video) Tru_in_Blu Softball 15 Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:12pm
KY - Miss St. johnnyrao Basketball 1 Wed Jan 16, 2008 02:30pm
How do I not miss the next one like this? BloggingRefGuy Basketball 10 Sun Jan 21, 2007 09:23am
Miss a base in reverse Yeggman Softball 4 Wed Jun 21, 2006 08:51pm
Passed base vs. gross miss greymule Softball 5 Sat Feb 28, 2004 07:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1