The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
And my comment even touched on that.

If you aren't going to tell the coach "No" (and I don't think you should), then should you tell him "Yes"? If not, are you really going to make him go through the rigamarole of phrasing a "proper appeal" just so you can rule the runner safe? I highly doubt it. Just rule on the appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Tell him "yes", and you'll still be ejecting the OC (when the DC tells F2 "tag her anyway, just to make sure", and you say "out!").
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Let me rephrase. If she had touched the plate, would you answer the coach with "yes" when he asked his question, or would you make him rephrase his question in the form of an appeal...just so you can rule safe?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Tell him "yes", and you'll still be ejecting the OC (when the DC tells F2 "tag her anyway, just to make sure", and you say "out!").
This better not happen. If the coach is on the field time out should have been called. Tagging a runner is a live ball appeal process, so if F2 tags someone during a dead ball appeal and the umpire says "out!"...

That's just wrong on many levels.

I don't do NCAA, but I'm clear that this is one of those subtle differences between ASA (coach cannot appeal during a dead ball) and NFHS (coach can appeal during a dead ball).

After time out is called:
Coach: "Blue, did she touch the plate?"
Me: "Coach, you'll need to appeal to find out."

There's no penalty for an appeal. Once S/he goes back to the dugout and (depending upon sanction) a proper appeal is made, I'll rule on it.

Sheesh!
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
This better not happen. If the coach is on the field time out should have been called. Tagging a runner is a live ball appeal process, so if F2 tags someone during a dead ball appeal and the umpire says "out!"...

That's just wrong on many levels.

I don't do NCAA, but I'm clear that this is one of those subtle differences between ASA (coach cannot appeal during a dead ball) and NFHS (coach can appeal during a dead ball).

After time out is called:
Coach: "Blue, did she touch the plate?"
Me: "Coach, you'll need to appeal to find out."

There's no penalty for an appeal. Once S/he goes back to the dugout and (depending upon sanction) a proper appeal is made, I'll rule on it.

Sheesh!
Or, for ASA...
After time out is called:
Coach: "Blue, did she touch the plate?"
Me: "Catch, what did your coach say?"
Catcher: "Did she touch the plate."
Me: "Out"!

__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2016, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Smile

my bad... brain cramp... totally forgot about the dead ball due to OBS in the OP.

In a dead ball sit, their question is good enough for me as an appeal.




(live ball, no answer whatsoever)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 06, 2016, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
"Did she touch the plate"

Tell him "yes", ... snip ... and you say "out!").
Huh?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Base Awarded? pruett3 Baseball 2 Thu May 27, 2010 09:41am
Batter awarded 1st base? hawk65 Softball 50 Wed Mar 11, 2009 10:18am
Is awarded base mandatory? hawk65 Softball 2 Tue May 01, 2007 01:10pm
FED: Passing an awarded base ctblu40 Baseball 15 Thu Feb 08, 2007 06:31pm
which base awarded on this obstruction? shipwreck Softball 6 Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1