The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 18, 2003, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 18
In answer to the question in the first post, as long as the pivot foot is legal on the start of the pitch where is there anything to call? I do not call a lift of the heel providing the foot does not slide forward or it is a turn only to clear cleats and the heel is not turned off the rubber. I do however call everytime when the first motion of the pitch is with the pivot foot and it is slid forward 3 or 4 inches before the stride foot is moved.

IMO, to not call something because no perceived advantage is gained is a slippery slope, except maybe for safety when both teams are given the same tolerance.

A few years ago a girl that is now playing D-1 would start with her heel in contact, her fist motion was to slide her pivot foot forward several inches, I would call her, she would smile and not move it the rest of the game. IMO she knew exactly what she was doing and mayby wasn't called all the time. But because the ball of her foot was already forward, I wanted here in contact as required by the rules when the pitch started. (ASA says in contact with and Federation says on top of.)

__________________
Wolfy
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1