The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2003, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Question

The July issue of Referee magazine has a "holding enforcement" caseplay on page 66. The ruling is that the 10 yard holding penalty is enforced from A's 15 yard line (the end of the run) giving A first and 10 at A's 25. I agree with the enforcement, I just don't see how A gets a first down as a result. Shouldn't it be A's ball on the 25, second and 10?


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2003, 03:35pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,135
Not all of us have the magazine in front of us. Could you please describe the whole play so it can be answered and understood by all.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2003, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Sorry about that. Here is the text from p. 66 of the July issue of Referee:

Play: Second and 15 for team A on its own 20 yardline. Quarterback A1, unable to find an open receiver, begins to scramble and runs toward the line of scrimmage. A1 is downed on his own 15 yardline. B2 is flagged for holding eligible receiver A3. Since it's obvious A1 was trying to pass, is team B's holding penalty enforced from the end of the run or from the previous spot? Ruling: A1's intent is irrelevant; that is a running play. In NFHS, the basic spot is the end of the run. The 10-yard penalty is enforced from team A's 15 yardline, resulting in first and 10 for team A from its 25 yardline. (The ruling is also explained for NCAA rules, but I'm only interested in the NFHS application).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 31, 2003, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Second and 15 for A at their own 20, the line-to-gain is the 30. The ten-yard penalty is enforced from the 15 placing the ball at the 25. Replay the down. Second and 5.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2003, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
I agree with Ed.. 2nd and 5. Use end of run. Referee had the spot of enforcement right but the down and distance wrong.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2003, 03:53am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Second and 15 for A at their own 20, the line-to-gain is the 30. The ten-yard penalty is enforced from the 15 placing the ball at the 25. Replay the down. Second and 5.
If it's 2D/15 @ A20, is the line-to-gain not the A35?

10y from the end of the run is the A25, and with DR, it gives, 2D/10 @ A25.

Just asking.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 01, 2003, 04:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
Wink

Opp ur right.. I can add or subtract or something like that... 2nd and 10.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1