The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 08:20pm
Broadcaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: LaGrange, Ga.
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
A receiver that controls the ball as his first foot hits the ground, then comes to the ground with his body and loses that control the moment he hits the ground DID NOT HAVE CONTROL of the ball long enough for us to call it a catch.

If your experience is true, you know that. And you know that well enough that you have taught it, and trained it into our newer officials.

If you don't know that, either you're experience is not the truth, or you've managed to not have 40 years of experience, but rather 1 year of experience 40 times. No offense intended.
But if a ball carrier takes a handoff and runs into the end zone, hits the ground in the end zone with one foot and the ball crossing the goal line, comes to the ground with his body and loses control of the ball the moment the body hits the ground is still credited with a touchdown. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 10:25pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by voiceoflg View Post
But if a ball carrier takes a handoff and runs into the end zone, hits the ground in the end zone with one foot and the ball crossing the goal line, comes to the ground with his body and loses control of the ball the moment the body hits the ground is still credited with a touchdown. Correct?
Yes but he already possessed the ball by rule so it was a touchdown as soon as the ball broke the plane of the goal line. The rules for an airborne receiver are different than a ball carrier.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
What if a player catches a pass while kneeling, then falls & hits the ground with his chest, the ball squirting out as he does so? Does it matter how much of his body hits the ground before the ball is lost?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 08, 2014, 11:33pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
What if a player catches a pass while kneeling, then falls & hits the ground with his chest, the ball squirting out as he does so? Does it matter how much of his body hits the ground before the ball is lost?
In my Canadian rules, I have a TD. Surviving contact with the ground does not apply to plays where the catch is completed simultaneously with the play ending; it does apply to airborne players.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 09, 2014, 02:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
What if a player catches a pass while kneeling, then falls & hits the ground with his chest, the ball squirting out as he does so? Does it matter how much of his body hits the ground before the ball is lost?
By your description he is going to the ground as part of making the catch and did not control it through the process so it would be incomplete. Thank you for demonstrating how easy it is to make this consistent.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1