![]() |
|
|
|||
Ineligible Receiver Downfield
For some reason I have a mental block with this rule, but the wording seems
a bit confusing: "... a penalty that is called when a forward pass is thrown and an ineligible receiver is beyond the line of scrimmage without blocking an opponent at the time of the pass." 1. Ball is snapped and as the QB is dropping back, the left offensive tackle runs downfield. At seven or eight yards, he throws a block on the strong safety. The QB throws a pass to a flanker on the right side. 2. Ball is snapped. QB drops back. Left tackle drive blocks the defender over him and pushes him back four or five yards. The QB then throws a pass downfield. Are both of these examples penalties? |
|
|||
Both are penalties, but not Ineligible down field. These sound more like OPI.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
So if the OT just ran downfield, an ineligible receiver downfield penalty would be called at the time the QB releases the ball?
I still don't get where the without blocking an opponent at the time of the pass comes in. |
|
|||
Quote:
If he's downfield but within two yards of the NZ and he's blocking, it's nothing. If he's downfield and blocking, he's an ineligible receiver downfield and it's offensive pass interference. |
|
|||
That is not required for OPI. I'd apply it as a standard if the ball were already in the air and the blocking began.
Don't forget that OPI restrictions begin on the snap and that blocking down field can be a signal to the defense that a running play is developing.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
7-5-12 Ineligible A players may not advance beyond the expanded neutral zone on a legal forward pass play before a legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone is in flight. If B touches the pass in or behind the neutral zone, this restriction is terminated. An ineligible is not illegally downfield if, at the snap, he immediately contacts a B lineman and the contact does not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone. |
|
|||
...before a legal forward pass that crosses the neutral zone is in flight.
Doesn't the NFL rule differ here in the case of screen passes? I.e., if a forward pass is thrown and it doesn't cross the LOS, a flag will be thrown if an ineligible lineman is past the ENZ. In college ball, it isn't a penalty as long as the pass is completed behind the LOS. Here, it becomes a penalty only when the forward pass crosses the neutral zone. |
|
|||
Yes the NFL rule is different, but most of us do not work that level to know for sure what the exact language is in their rule (And I am sure someone will look up the NFL rule and post it here).
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ineligible Receiver Downfield | mvp2jeter | Football | 17 | Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:10am |
Ineligible Downfield | rockyroad | Football | 3 | Mon May 14, 2012 02:00pm |
ineligible downfield | kd0254 | Football | 4 | Thu Oct 15, 2009 02:26pm |
Ineligible downfield / OPI | Wes | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 09:45am |
Ineligible man downfield | Patsfan2431 | Football | 24 | Fri Oct 10, 2003 01:05am |