|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Is it legal to throw a backward pass out of bounds for the purpose of stoppng the clock?  A rules reference would be greatly appreciated.
		 
				__________________ "Contact does not mean a foul, a foul means contact." -Me | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			NF: yes this is legal. The clock would start on the snap. check rules 7-4-? and 3-4-? (sorry no books). I know you don't really need this info, but under NCAA this would be a spot foul and we would start the clock on the ready. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			There is nothing in the rules that forbids intentionally throwing a backwards pass OOB to conserve time.  The only passes which can be illegal are foward passes, as outlined in 7-5-2.  Also I think the definition of a rule (2-35) is important here, specifically this part:  "A rule sometimes states what a player may do, but if there is no such statement for a given act (such as faking a kick), it is assumed that he may do what is not prohibited." As for some of the rules that Theisey was looking for: 3-4-3a (the clock starts on the snap if the clock was stopped because the ball went OOB) and 3-4-4e (the clock shall be stopped when the ball goes OOB). 7-4 discusses fumbles and backwards passes and does not mention or prohibit intentionally throwing a backward pass OOB. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				a tiwst
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: a tiwst
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			If you throw a backwards pass out of bounds, the ball would be spotted at where the ball went out because it is considered a fumble, correct?  This would explain why there is no penalty on the play; they have already lost the yardage.
		 
				__________________ Joel Football is like life, it requires perseverance, self-denial, hard work, sacrifice, dedication and respect for authority. --Vince Lombardi | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: a tiwst
			 Quote: 
   
				__________________ "...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			Possible situation where the QB might do that. ----- 3rd and goal to go from the 5 for A who is down by 2 points and 10 seconds left on the clock. Team QB takes the snap and drops back to pass--- his #1 receiver is double teamed, he looks for his secondary and sees he is being rushed by the defense. Rather than risk being hit and fumbling the ball- he throws is backwards out of bounds to stop the clock AND retain possession. Team A now brings in ACE kicker to kick a 25 yard FG and win the game !!! Legal-- you bet-- and also smart play !! Anyone have a rule that say no ?? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
   
				__________________ "...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith | 
| 
 | |||
|   Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			but--- no matter how long you've been at the "officiating game"-- and you think you've seen EVERYTHING------- then something happens and you think-- "what the hell was that !!" keeps it interesting doesn't it ?? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Peace 
				__________________ Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) | 
| 
 | |||
|   
			
			Thanks all.. Now that this has been discussed it will happen in one of my games and the defensive team will be screaming for intentional grounding and won't get it.. 
		 
				__________________ Jim Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread | 
| 
 |  |