The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2003, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by jjoback
Play1:

B intercepts A in the endzone and than runs it out and at the 5 yard line he is hit by A and fumbles and ball rolls out the back of the endzone. What is the ruling? Touchback for B or safety for A?


PLay2:

A misses a field goal and it lands short on the 5 yard line and becomes dead there at the 5 yard line, no one goes out to get it so refs blow it dead. Where is the ball marked for B, previous line of scrimmage? Or at the 5 yard line?


THese are both High School situations
THanks in advance......

Assuming you aren't playing in Texas or Massachusetts, here are your rulings. (The other 48 states use NFHS rules)

In play 1, once B brought the ball out of the endzone, the momentum exception no longer applies. They are responsible for the fumble that put the ball back into their own endzone. Team A scores a safety.

In play 2, field goals are treated just like punts if they aren't successful. How would you treat a punt that come to rest at the 5 yard line?

The answer is that the ball would belong to B (or R) at their own 5 yard line.

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1