The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Question on two plays (https://forum.officiating.com/football/9548-question-two-plays.html)

jjoback Thu Jul 31, 2003 08:46am

Play1:

B intercepts A in the endzone and than runs it out and at the 5 yard line he is hit by A and fumbles and ball rolls out the back of the endzone. What is the ruling? Touchback for B or safety for A?


PLay2:

A misses a field goal and it lands short on the 5 yard line and becomes dead there at the 5 yard line, no one goes out to get it so refs blow it dead. Where is the ball marked for B, previous line of scrimmage? Or at the 5 yard line?


THese are both High School situations
THanks in advance......


Ed Hickland Thu Jul 31, 2003 09:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by jjoback
Play1:

B intercepts A in the endzone and than runs it out and at the 5 yard line he is hit by A and fumbles and ball rolls out the back of the endzone. What is the ruling? Touchback for B or safety for A?


Ball was last in team possession of B at the time of the fumble, therefore, the force of player A caused the ball to cross the goal line and eventually the endline. Safety.

Quote:



PLay2:

A misses a field goal and it lands short on the 5 yard line and becomes dead there at the 5 yard line, no one goes out to get it so refs blow it dead. Where is the ball marked for B, previous line of scrimmage? Or at the 5 yard line?


Field goal is nothing more than a scrimmage kick in NFHS (high school) rules. The fact the kick falls short and not in the end zone the ball becomes dead at the spot where the officials blow it dead.

First and 10 at the 5.

THese are both High School situations
THanks in advance......


mikesears Thu Jul 31, 2003 09:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by jjoback
Play1:

B intercepts A in the endzone and than runs it out and at the 5 yard line he is hit by A and fumbles and ball rolls out the back of the endzone. What is the ruling? Touchback for B or safety for A?


PLay2:

A misses a field goal and it lands short on the 5 yard line and becomes dead there at the 5 yard line, no one goes out to get it so refs blow it dead. Where is the ball marked for B, previous line of scrimmage? Or at the 5 yard line?


THese are both High School situations
THanks in advance......


Assuming you aren't playing in Texas or Massachusetts, here are your rulings. (The other 48 states use NFHS rules)

In play 1, once B brought the ball out of the endzone, the momentum exception no longer applies. They are responsible for the fumble that put the ball back into their own endzone. Team A scores a safety.

In play 2, field goals are treated just like punts if they aren't successful. How would you treat a punt that come to rest at the 5 yard line?

The answer is that the ball would belong to B (or R) at their own 5 yard line.


STEVED21 Thu Jul 31, 2003 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mikesears
In play 1, once B brought the ball out of the endzone, the momentum exception no longer applies. They are responsible for the fumble that put the ball back into their own endzone. Team A scores a safety.


Mike,

I agree on both points. But, the momentum exception doesn't apply as the interception occured In the endzone.

mikesears Fri Aug 01, 2003 07:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by STEVED21
Mike,

I agree on both points. But, the momentum exception doesn't apply as the interception occured In the endzone. [/B]
Thanks Steve. I didn't fully read the situation presented.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1