![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If not then that is a stretch. I am sure I will discuss this situation with others as a way to see what they think, but I doubt seriously they will simply agree with your assessement of this play. It is one thing to bat the ball towards someone on purpose and to be hit as a result of being near the ball when you should not be. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
One philosophy I've heard (more at the NCAA level but also at the HS level) is in order to rule the player was blocked into the ball and thus absolved of touching, he needs to almost be picked up and dropped on the ball. Just because he's engaged in a block and touches the ball doesn't mean he was blocked into it. Get away from the ball if you don't want to touch it. He's not absolved if he's by himself and doesn't realize the ball is coming down on him.
Using this philosophy I lean toward the second touching by R to be a legitimate touching by R. Get away from the ball! Far far away! |
|
|||
No, the rule book uses the term "force". See CB 8.3.3.A (2012).
im·pe·tus (mp-ts) n. pl. im·pe·tus·es 1. An impelling force; an impulse. 2. The force or energy associated with a moving body Last edited by CT1; Wed Jul 10, 2013 at 06:14am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Punt Question | bossman72 | Football | 7 | Sat Aug 16, 2008 07:47am |
Punt Question | New AZ Ref | Football | 6 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:56am |
Punt question | MOFFICIAL | Football | 2 | Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:35am |
Punt Question | jwaz | Football | 8 | Tue Oct 21, 2003 04:06pm |
Question re: punt | FBFAN | Football | 1 | Tue Oct 07, 2003 09:06am |