The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 37
A good practice is to ask every time there is a choice of where the ball will be put into play from prior to the ready-fo-play.
Do not assume the ball will be in the middle of the field.
As metioned prior, once the RTP has been sounded, the ball cannot be moved.

I do not want to run into the case where a coach says he was not given a choice and the ready-for-play has sounded.

Granted, most of the time the middle of the field will be ok. Just make sure by asking.
__________________
"Because you can referee wrong, make a mistake, but what you can not do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules." Dutch legend (soccer coach) Johan Cruyff
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 22, 2013, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
Actually, it is not the RFP. Once the ball is spotted it can not be moved.
In any case, always a good thing to ask.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 23, 2013, 01:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsmi View Post
Actually, it is not the RFP. Once the ball is spotted it can not be moved.
That's interesting. I don't recall seeing the hair's being split between the spotting of the ball and the RFP before, but of course the latter must occur after the former. So what's the rules justif'n for saying it can't be moved even before the RFP if it's been spotted?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 23, 2013, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
See my Casebook reference ^ a few posts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 24, 2013, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsmi View Post
See my Casebook reference ^ a few posts.
I saw that but didn't think to take the word "spotted" so literally as referring to an act distinct from the entirety of readying the ball for play. Why do you?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 24, 2013, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
The FED makes a distinction between 'spotting the ball' and RFP as evidenced in these unrelated Casebook cites:

*7.5.2 SITUATION G: In the last few seconds of a half, A1 completes a pass to
A2 at B’s 20-yard line. The ball is properly spotted and the referee marks it ready
for play and signals the clock to start. In the rush and confusion to stop the clock,
A’s snapper and quarterback A1 are the only A players in legal position when the
ball is snapped and legally “spiked” by A1. A foul for illegal formation occurs at
the snap.


10.1.1 SITUATION A: Where is the ball spotted following penalty acceptance
when it is snapped from the right-side hash mark and the run ends in the left-side
zone and the foul is: (a) illegal motion by A1; or (b) holding by A1 in the middle
of the field behind the end of the run; or (c) grasping the face mask/helmet opening
by B1 in making the tackle? RULING: In (a), it is spotted at the right-side hash
mark. In (b), it is spotted in the middle of the field since the enforcement spot was
the spot of the foul. In (c), it is spotted at the left hash mark.

It is reasonable to interpret that spotting the ball takes place prior to the RFP and is a separate activity.

Last edited by goldsmi; Wed Apr 24, 2013 at 02:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2013, 11:10am
Judge of Lines
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 6
FWIW...I agree that there is a distinct difference between placing/spotting the ball and the RFP. However, if the team hasn't made a specific request, I don't see why we can't honor their request before RFP, even if the U has already placed the ball. It's definitely a good idea to ask before placing but if we place the ball in the middle without asking and the team then makes a request before the RFP, I don't see any reason why we can't move it.
__________________
You say I missed that call...I prefer to think that it missed me.
----------
Any statements expressed here are solely my own and do not represent any organization of which I may be a member.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2013, 06:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsmi View Post
The FED makes a distinction between 'spotting the ball' and RFP as evidenced in these unrelated Casebook cites:

*7.5.2 SITUATION G: In the last few seconds of a half, A1 completes a pass to
A2 at B’s 20-yard line. The ball is properly spotted and the referee marks it ready
for play and signals the clock to start. In the rush and confusion to stop the clock,
A’s snapper and quarterback A1 are the only A players in legal position when the
ball is snapped and legally “spiked” by A1. A foul for illegal formation occurs at
the snap.


10.1.1 SITUATION A: Where is the ball spotted following penalty acceptance
when it is snapped from the right-side hash mark and the run ends in the left-side
zone and the foul is: (a) illegal motion by A1; or (b) holding by A1 in the middle
of the field behind the end of the run; or (c) grasping the face mask/helmet opening
by B1 in making the tackle? RULING: In (a), it is spotted at the right-side hash
mark. In (b), it is spotted in the middle of the field since the enforcement spot was
the spot of the foul. In (c), it is spotted at the left hash mark.

It is reasonable to interpret that spotting the ball takes place prior to the RFP and is a separate activity.
Obviously it must take place before the RFP and is a separate activity, but the cases given above don't speak to the case being discussed here.

What makes anyone believe that whoever wrote "spotted" in Casebook reference 4.3.6 actually meant that, rather than its meaning "readied"?

"Do you want the ball here?" [Puts ball on ground.]
"No, there."
"Too late, it's spotted."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1