The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 05, 2013, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
On a try

can A request the ball be moved to a hash, after the RFP? Would this require a time out?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 05, 2013, 11:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
can A request the ball be moved to a hash, after the RFP? Would this require a time out?
If that request is supposed to be honored, then there's something wrong with the rules on readying the ball for play!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 05, 2013, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: IA
Posts: 132
My experience is that the center normally knows where they want the ball and will request that it be moved prior to the ready. If they request it after the ready for play, then the Umpire should ignore the request. If a team has asked for it to be moved, I will ask them if they want it moved and avoid the whole problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 05, 2013, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
ART. 2 . . . The try begins when the ball is marked ready for play. It ends when:
a. B secures possession.
b. It is apparent a drop kick or place kick will not score.
c. The try is successful.
d. The ball becomes dead for any other reason.


Can I buy a new spot with a time out though???
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 05, 2013, 06:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
Nope.

From the Casebook:

4.3.6 SITUATION: Prior to the ready-for-play on a try, A’s captain requests the ball be placed on the right side hash mark. A then deploys in a spread formation.
(a) A1 does not like the defensive coverage and requests a time-out;
or (b) a dead-ball foul occurs. The captain of A then asks the referee to move the ball to a position midway between the uprights.
RULING: The request is denied in (a) and honored in (b). The captain may, in seven situations, ask that the ball be placed at a certain point between the hash marks. However, once spotted the ball may not be moved because of a second request. If a dead-ball foul occurs, or a foul occurs during the down and the penalty is accepted, the captain again will be given an opportunity to pick a spot for the replay. The request for placement of
the ball is permissible for a try or kickoff, after a safety, fair catch, awarded fair catch, touchback, or the start of each series, using the 10-Yard Line Overtime Procedure. (8-3-1)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 08, 2013, 09:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Thanks!
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1