The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 20, 2003, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 522
First, the kick doesn't end until someone possesses the ball (i.e. if R muffs it, it is still a kick).

For situation (a), K can catch or recover ANY scrimmage kick in or behind the neutral zone and advance. This applies even if the kick went beyond the NZ and then came back behind it. It also applies if R muffed the kick beyond the NZ and the ball bounced back behind the NZ (remember, the muff doesn't end the kick). Rule 6-2-3.

When K recovers a kick beyond the NZ the play ALWAYS becomes dead as soon as K recovers, as per rule 6-2-4. As for the specific case book play, K gets a new series in both (a) and (b) because if R is the first to touch the kick beyond the NZ, K will keep posession if they recover (no matter where K's recovery occurs). This is from rule 5-1-3f.

In the situation of a fumble, the kick has ended since a team has gained possession (there must be possession to have a fumble). This fumble is just like any other fumble, and may be recovered and advanced by anyone. Rule 7-4-2.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1