The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 09:32am
Official Forum Member

Exclamation

I'm relatively new to officiating, so pardon my ignorance. I have a question that I'm sure someone can help me on - three live-ball fouls on the same play on different teams. I tried to find a situation like this explained in the rules and case books, but I haven't had any luck. If you find a situation in the rules or case book please pass along the reference. Example: Illegal substitution on A, illegal hands to the face on A, pass interference on B. Does it matter that the illegal substitution is a on-the-snap foul? What is the enforcement?
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 09:35am
Official Forum Member

This is a double foul. So long as the play is uncomplicated by a change of possession, all you need is at least one live ball foul on each team. No options given. Replay the down.
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 09:53am
Official Forum Member

Turnover on double foul

Since you mentioned it, let's see if I have the turnover's impact correct. If there is a double foul before the change of possession, replay the down. If one penalty is before and one is after the turnover, then the recovering team has the choice of declining the penalty on A (retain possession), or accept the penalty (replay the down). If this occurs, does A also get an option on the penalty against B? I guess I'm trying to get the penalty enforcement options clear in this situation.
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 10:13am
Official Forum Member

Re: Turnover on double foul

Quote:
Originally posted by Schultj
If this occurs, does A also get an option on the penalty against B?
No he doesn’t. The last sentence of NF 10-2-2 confirms this. “ In this case, the team not last in possession has no options”
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 10:18am
Official Forum Member