![]() |
SC vs Mich
How can you get a chain measurement wrong?
Why not allow a challenge? Clowney served up justice. Amazing! |
Good question.
The position the R took to view the measurement was behind the ball, so he may have thought the nose touched the front stake. Had he looked at it from a 90 degree angle, as the TV camera did, he probably would have ruled differently. My question is: Why didn't the official holding the ball (SJ?) say something to the R and "save" the crew? |
Depending on a particular white hat's philosophy/demeanor/comportment, sometimes you can't save someone from themselves.:(
I've no idea in this particular case. |
First of all I am not convinced he was wrong. There is one guy standing right near the ball which he can see or has some perspective and he probably communicated to the Referee where the ball was.
Secondly they did allow a challenge. There was no video evidence that showed they were wrong. All the angles did not show much as to the perspective to change the call. I did initially think the spot was short and the wing gave a better spot than I thought he should have. But after that, I am not sure the spot was necessarily short when you stand over the ball at the proper angle. Peace |
First, he was wrong. Everyone except some Michigan fans knows this.
Second, Spurrier challenged the spot, not the ruling that the ball was past the LTG (which cannot be challenged). The challenge failed. |
Quote:
And the spot was challenged, not the measurement. Actually they cannot challenge the measurement, they can challenge the spot of the wing, which was not in my opinion give a very good spot in the first place. I do not think the spot was that close based on what I saw live and where he marked the ball. I think he gave him about a half a yard more, but the review could not conclude either way well enough. Those things are not overturned anyway unless it is obvious they were clearly short or clearly beyond (heard that from a Big Ten Official I worked with this season). I would have been totally OK if they did not get the first down on that issue alone. Peace |
There were at least two different camera views. Both of them clearly showed the ball was at least 2 inches short of the first down post. One of the officials has apparently acknowledged that the ball was short according to some post game interviews with Spurrier. The official apparently was asked why the R called it a first down and this official was not sure as he saw it was short.
|
I know one thing. Clowney knocked the HELL out of the Mich. RB. WOW!!!! :eek:
That kid is a beast!! BTW, a 3 year old would have no trouble seeing it wasn't a 1st down. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
It's in my job description. |
Quote:
Peace |
Of course our crew communicates with each other. However, by rule, "The referee's decisions are final in all matters pertaining to the game."
That being the case, I'm not taking someone else's word that the LTG has or hasn't been reached. I'm going to take the extra 5 seconds to see for myself. |
Quote:
That said, all other first down or not decisions are made on my crew by the line judge. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am. |