The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest PA
Posts: 55
NFHS question

In a game Friday night, the R had roughing the passer on Team B, but the pass was tipped behind the line (screen pass) also by Team B. Team B wanted the roughing taken away because the ball was tipped. The R made the initial call, talked to the Team B coach, was going to wave it off then decided to still enforce it. looked like a clown show. My question is does a tipped ball cancel out roughing the passer?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
No.
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 08:24am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonLJ View Post
In a game Friday night, the R had roughing the passer on Team B, but the pass was tipped behind the line (screen pass) also by Team B. Team B wanted the roughing taken away because the ball was tipped. The R made the initial call, talked to the Team B coach, was going to wave it off then decided to still enforce it. looked like a clown show. My question is does a tipped ball cancel out roughing the passer?
Does the pass being tipped make the passer no longer a passer? No. He's still a passer (as long has he's behind the neutral zone). Sounds like Team B is confusing the fact that a tipped pass affects PI and not RTP.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest PA
Posts: 55
The kicker is one official (Who is also a WH but was head linesman this game) was trying to tell the WH that he threw the ball so he no longer is a passer. I was amazed that he said that.

And I agree Radio, this wasn't PI, it was roughing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 08:53am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Rule: 2-32-11
A passer is a player who throws a legal forward pass. He continues to be a passer until the legal forward pass ends or until he moves to participate in the play.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 09:07am
Medium Kahuna
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: At home
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
Rule: 2-32-11
A passer is a player who throws a legal forward pass. He continues to be a passer until the legal forward pass ends or until he moves to participate in the play.
Well that explains how Jason's H came to the conclusion he did: he misinterpreted this definition as saying that the passer is such until the passing ends.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 29, 2012, 10:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest PA
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by maven View Post
Well that explains how Jason's H came to the conclusion he did: he misinterpreted this definition as saying that the passer is such until the passing ends.
I still had it as roughing, same as the WH. It was when the other official came in and said that the ball was tipped so roughing is no longer in question is when any doubt crept in. I was sure we enforced it correctly, just wanted some feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2012, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,917
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonLJ View Post
The kicker is one official (Who is also a WH but was head linesman this game)
Why is an official allowed to play in his own game? Next you'll be telling me the teams had linesmen.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2012, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Why is an official allowed to play in his own game? Next you'll be telling me the teams had linesmen.
Ok, I'll give you this one... that was funny.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2012, 11:46am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonLJ View Post
In a game Friday night, the R had roughing the passer on Team B, but the pass was tipped behind the line (screen pass) also by Team B. Team B wanted the roughing taken away because the ball was tipped. The R made the initial call, talked to the Team B coach, was going to wave it off then decided to still enforce it. looked like a clown show. My question is does a tipped ball cancel out roughing the passer?
CANADIAN RULING:

No.

Nor would it matter if the B player tipping the ball was the same player that was flagged for RTP.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Question benbret Football 5 Sun Oct 28, 2012 09:26pm
NFHS Question Skahtboi Softball 8 Thu Oct 13, 2011 08:38am
Question NFHS 46 agr8zebra Basketball 5 Fri Oct 31, 2008 05:56pm
NFHS Question 24 MrRabbit Softball 15 Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm
NFHS question oppool Softball 1 Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1