![]() |
|
|
|||
Well that explains how Jason's H came to the conclusion he did: he misinterpreted this definition as saying that the passer is such until the passing ends.
|
|
|||
I still had it as roughing, same as the WH. It was when the other official came in and said that the ball was tipped so roughing is no longer in question is when any doubt crept in. I was sure we enforced it correctly, just wanted some feedback.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I was simply commenting on this other official: when telling someone he's wrong, I always try to start with a win for him. For instance: "You know, Bob, you're right: when B tips the ball, you can't have PI. But I don't think that provision applies to RTP. The passer is still protected." I was thinking something similar about his concern that the passer was no longer a passer after the ball was released. "Bob, you're right, he does cease to be a passer at some point, but I think he has until the pass ends." |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
That is what I was thinking. That is going to be a longer discussion to change that thinking in that moment.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Not much longer: "It is still a forward pass until it is caught or becomes dead by rule."
|
|
|||
I did not take this has him actually looking at the QB or passer. I took this has him explaining why he would go with RTP. As this appears to have been a coach-official conference. And depending on the play, he would be looking at the QB rolling to his side and might notice him getting hit and might even notice a tipped ball immediately as well.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I wasn't. I actually was umpiring this game. The WH asked if the ball was tipped, I told him it was. I was just agreeing that if he had roughing, then the call should stand regardless of the tipped ball.
|
|
|||
OK, sorry. I took your post to mean that you *also* thought the hit on the passer was RTP.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Question | benbret | Football | 5 | Sun Oct 28, 2012 09:26pm |
NFHS Question | Skahtboi | Softball | 8 | Thu Oct 13, 2011 08:38am |
Question NFHS 46 | agr8zebra | Basketball | 5 | Fri Oct 31, 2008 05:56pm |
NFHS Question 24 | MrRabbit | Softball | 15 | Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:58pm |
NFHS question | oppool | Softball | 1 | Fri Jan 21, 2005 05:37pm |