The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Clock Start Question (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92604-clock-start-question.html)

Scuba_ref Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:03pm

Clock Start Question

I am new to the White Hat postition and am currently cutting my teeth on Jr High and Sub Varsity games. I was having a conversation with another White Hat (varsity level) and he posed this question to me: K is punting and the kicker gets the ball away but is roughed in the process. Official on that game started the clock at the ready after marching off the penalty, was this correct?

My answer was no. Team K was awarded a new set of downs after a legal kick so start on the snap. The penalty was a minor clock stoppage and the kick play was a major clock stoppage - using the terminology from Reddings Guide - the kick clock stoppage supercedes the penalty clock stoppage and so start on the snap.

Am I wrong?

Adam Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:11pm

I'm not sure this is a new series. It's a first down, not a new set.

Unless I'm missing something.

MD Longhorn Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:13pm

There was no kick. The accepted penalty wiped that out. Proceed just as you would on any other 4th down play where a penalty resulted in a first down.

Clock on the ready.

Welpe Tue Oct 09, 2012 02:20pm

You are correct, Scuba, the clock will start on the snap:

NFHS 3-4-3

ART. 3 . . . The clock shall start with the snap or when any free kick is touched, other than first touching by K, if the clock was stopped because:

a. The ball goes out of bounds.

b. B or R is awarded a new series.

c. Either team is awarded a new series following a legal kick.

d. The ball becomes dead behind the goal line.

e. A legal or illegal forward pass is incomplete.

f. A request for a charged or TV/radio time-out is granted.

g. A period ends.

h. A team attempts to consume time illegally.