![]() |
Quote:
Sometimes it is good to talk these things out so when you are faced with these situations or you make this call, what the potential reaction will be. If officials think this is silly to call, what do you think a coach is going to say? And for the record I disagree big time with our head clinician on this and he would have to tell us we should have called this to buy his position on this topic. ;) Peace |
I'm fine with this discussion continuing but please let's ensure we maintain our decorum.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
When you read the rule, you insert "immediately" into the phrase "prior to the snap." The rule is not remain stationary for at least one second immediately prior to the snap. |
So basically after everyone has set for one second all backs could do jumping jacks prior to the snap as long as the officials deem this not to be a false start, all movement is ok except motion, which is not defined and simulating a start??
|
John why do you always insist on dragging things into the absurd?
|
What is the definition of motion?
|
Quote:
Peace |
mo'tion n 1a moving;change of position 2 gesture 3 proposal made at a meeting - v. make, or direct by, gestures. Webser's Dictionary
|
Quote:
|
Define illegal motion then.
|
"Motion" in general (in those cases where simulating the start of play is not the issue) should be understood as gaining a head start of some kind, not breathing, blinking, sign language, scratching an itch, etc.
|
There is no definition of "motion" per se in NFHS rules. They only state that only one player may be in motion at the snap and then only if that motion is not towards the opponents goalline. If the motion doesn't meet that criteria or the portion about being established in the back then that is defined as illegal motion.
So the action is not an illegal motion as it is not moving forward at the snap. It is not an illegal shift if they have moved from a huddle or other set position to another set position. It is not a false start if they have not shifted or feigned an action simulating action at the snap, committed an act "clearly intended" to cause B to encroach, or a lineman that has placed a hand on/near the ground and picked it up or made a quick movement. There is no "A must remain as a statue" prior to the snap rule. |
well if you define the action as motion, there are 3 of them doing it at the same time. That is illegal, I am pretty sdure.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39pm. |