![]() |
Quote:
|
What I think we can agree on, is that I hope we never see this !!!: :D:D:D
|
Quote:
|
For what it's worth, which may be minimal, I've now asked 5 FED guys with vastly more FED experience than me, and none of them think this should be illegal as long as it's not done suddenly as if to draw someone off.
|
Quote:
Peace |
7.2.7 SITUATION: The quarterback by voice command has signaled his teammates
to assume a set position while he is standing upright behind the center. The quarterback steps forward and places his hands under the center to receive the snap: (a) at the instant the snap is made; or (b) which is made after he is motionless, but prior to one second having elapsed; or (c) which is made after he is motionless for one second; or (d) which is made after he is motionless for one second, but while he is stepping backward with one foot as the snap is made. RULING: In (a), it is illegal motion. In (b), it is an illegal shift. In (c), it is legal. In (d), it is legal unless a teammate is also in motion at the snap. COMMENT: If the quarterback drops his hands under the snapper without stepping forward, it is a shift and not motion. (2-39; 7-2-6) |
Quote:
|
I'm just on my first year of football, but I don't see how hand signals constitute a shift.
|
Quote:
The QB moving his hands under the snapper is a shift because his whole upper body moves and because it's akin to a lineman dropping to a 3-point stance. The end giving hand signals is not sufficiently similar, IMHO, to be considered a shift. |
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
BigJohn:
The phrase "remain stationary...for at least one second before the snap" does NOT mean that further motion after the stop is prohibited -- in fact, it's quite common to have a player go in motion after the stop. |
Why are we still talking about this? No one is going to change his mind. He'll call it and the rest of us will not.
|
Ohio State Rules Interpreter Bruce Mauer says.
Check Page 58, Rule 7-2-6: says "without movement of hands". I would probably warn them the first time, then penalize them afterwards, unless they simulated the snap or drew B to encroach. I do not know if I have ever seen that type of mvt with receivers before. The key is they can do it initially, but must remain "without movement" for 1 sec before the snap. Bruce then after I pointed out that all had been stationary for 1 second he replied this: Legal play as long as they all set for 1 second without mvt prior to the snap. Bruce So there is the answer in Ohio. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am. |