The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   Whose Ball Following This Play (https://forum.officiating.com/football/92298-whose-ball-following-play.html)

CT1 Fri Aug 31, 2012 05:54am

Evidently, I should have used the phrase "For enforcement purposes, this is a COP play". :rolleyes:

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 31, 2012 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert Goodman (Post 852933)
Actually I didn't, but if i'd been more awake when I read it, I would've. I'd misread a detail of what he wrote, got onto the wrong track.

Cool.

mtridge Fri Aug 31, 2012 11:03am

If it a complete pass to K79 do we take ignore the OPI and take IFP or vica verca?

dvasques Fri Aug 31, 2012 01:14pm

Ok... I know the original question was Federation rules but since I'm back and still working IFAF/NCAA rules here in Brasil, I gotta ask about this situation...
muffed kick beyond NZ bounces back behind NZ, R picks it up and passes forward from behind NZ

That's a legal pass in NCAA/IFAF?

CT1 Fri Aug 31, 2012 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtridge (Post 852975)
If it a complete pass to K79 do we take ignore the OPI and take IFP or vica verca?

No, you don't ignore it. But you do call the correct foul.

If K79 has done nothing other than catch the ball, it's Illegal Touching, not OPI.

Same penalty yardage, although the basic spot for the IT would be the previous spot. You still can't enforce the LOD provision.

mtridge Sun Sep 02, 2012 11:02am

It would be a OPI. Case book 7.5.13 If ineligible catches the ball beyond the LOS it is OPI

mbyron Sun Sep 02, 2012 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtridge (Post 853074)
It would be a OPI. Case book 7.5.13 If ineligible catches the ball beyond the LOS it is OPI

Not OPI. NFHS fixed this case play in the 2012 interps.

Quote:

Page 61, *7.5.13 SITUATION A: Ineligible receiver A2 is behind, in or beyond his neutral zone and has committed no act against a defender that could be considered pass interference when a forward pass by A1: (a) accidentally strikes him in the back; or (b) is muffed by him; or (c) is caught by him. RULING: In (a), there is no foul for illegal touching. In (b) and (c), it is illegal touching. <S>and if beyond the line of scrimmage, would also be offensive pass interference.</S> The acts in both (b) and (c) are intentional and not accidental as in (a). COMMENT: Game officials should be very clear in explaining penalty options if the same act constitutes more than one foul as listed above, as each of the fouls has a different penalty.
NFHS | 2012 NFHS Football Rules Interpretations

JugglingReferee Mon Sep 03, 2012 04:36am

Canadian Ruling
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The Stiff (Post 852804)
Federation Rules — Fourth down and 10 from midfield. A's punt is muffed on the R 40 and rebounds back behind the neutral zone, where A2 picks it up at the A 45 yard line and throws an incomplete pass. Where will the ball be put in play next?

CANADIAN RULING:

Interpret as an offside pass - live ball.

mtridge Tue Sep 04, 2012 11:59am

Thanks mbyron. Didn't know that website existed. Very useful.

Robert Goodman Tue Sep 04, 2012 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 853107)
CANADIAN RULING:

Interpret as an offside pass - live ball.

So the pass is considered to have been thrown during possession other than from scrimmage? I.e. possession from scrimmage ends when the ball is kicked past the line of scrimmage?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1