![]() |
|
|
|||
Seems like I remember the NCAA putting in a rule to address this very play that absolves the defense from DPI on passes thrown in a way which resembles a kick.
Or was that just a proposal that never made into the book? |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
The NFL has a similar rule to the NCAA one.
Rule 8, Section 5 Pass Interference Article 3 Permissible Acts by both teams while the ball is in the air. ... Note 3: Whenever a team presents an apparent punting formation, defensive acts that normally constitute pass interference are permitted against the end man on the line of scrimmage, or against an eligible receiver behind the line of scrimmage who is aligned or in motion more than one yard outside the end man on the line, provided that the acts do not constitute illegal holding. Defensive holding, such as tackling a receiver, still can be called and result in a five-yard penalty from the previous spot, if accepted. Offensive pass interference rules still apply.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
We had a coach use this play in a game a few years ago. He even described it to us in pre-game and told me before the snap they were going to run. He went nuts when we didn't flag it. The reason? The receiver out ran the defender and there was no contact.
I do like the NCAA rule that doesn't allow this silliness. But if it happened in a HS game I would have to call it if the defender was contacting the receiver even if the pass was thrown high like a punt. |
|
|||
You would not have to call it if you judged that the contact was "clearly away from the intended receiver." IMO, on this play the offense does not get the benefit of any doubt concerning the intended receiver. 7.5.11A (a), 7.5.11B
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|