The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
What ya got?

A84 catches the pass while airborn in the EZ 1 yard deep. While airborn he is driven from the zone to the one yard line where he comes down and completes the catch. Touchdown?
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 03:37pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Touchdown
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 04:11pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Touchdown
Fed yes. NCAA, not that simple but I'm guessing Smitty isn't asking about NCAA.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 06:16pm
tow tow is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Forward progress is into end zone,td.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by tow View Post
Forward progress is into end zone,td.
...which means that if A84 is carried OOB and judged that he would have landed inbounds, it's still a catch and a TD. But you better whistle the play dead before he lands OOB to signal that forward progress was stopped.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Aug 22, 2012 at 07:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
...which means that if A84 is carried OOB and judged that he would have landed inbounds, it's still a catch and a TD. But you better whistle the play dead before he lands OOB to signal that forward progress was stopped.
I disagree, the new rules states that the official no longer has to judge if the receiver was going to land in bounds or not. If he is pushed and lands OOB it is an incomplete catch.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2012, 10:09pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
A84 catches the pass while airborn in the EZ 1 yard deep. While airborn he is driven from the zone to the one yard line where he comes down and completes the catch. Touchdown?
CANADIAN RULING:

Touchdown.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1