The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 07, 2003, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 125
[QUOTE]Originally posted by James Neil
Quote:
Originally posted by stripes1977
I don't believe this is true my comrade in strips. The last sentence of NF 2-13-1 says “ After a backward pass, fumble or kick has been grounded, a new force MAY result from a bat, an illegal kick or muff“ (caps are mine). I think they used the word “may” as opposed to “will” to let us know we have “room to interpret”.
I think the word "may" is there simply because a bat, illegal kick or muff may or may not result in a new force. If the loose ball was already about to roll into the end zone, and B muffs it but it still rolls into the end zone, B's muff did not add a new force.

But in the play situation described, the ball was rolling away from the end zone, and B knocked it in there. B clearly did add a new force and by rule it's a TB.

It's true that individual cases need to be interpreted individually, but I don't think you should go to the lengths of applying an NCAA rule to an NFHS game just because you like the NCAA rule better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1