The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 08, 2003, 11:41am
JMN JMN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 296
NCAA

With the 2yd "Halo" vanishing this year, there has been spirited discussion on how we are to rule on KCI. Of course, this centers on the term "unimpeded opportunity to catch a kick". We watched a film the other night and as expected we divided the room on how each official sees the play and how they would rule.

Some feel that if R catches the ball, he wasn't impeded, therefore no foul even if K was "in his face". They would argue that since R caught the ball, K, although close, did not violate R's space. Obviously he wasn't impeded by K. 1st down, move the chains, let's go!

Others would argue that if K is in R's face, then he impedes and therefore launches a flag. They say that it is K's responsibility to be under control and provide the room necessary for R to field the ball, unimpeded. In fact, K can certainly impede without contact.

With the intent of officiating to be as uniform as possible on field rulings, what are your thoughts? What keys will you look for to make this call? What discussions are you having to determine how your crews or associations will look at this play consistently across games?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1