The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 01, 2003, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Re: Federation rule question

[QUOTE]Originally posted by sloth
[B]In the federation rule book, 2-16-4 states that "no foul causes a live ball to be dead". Here is a scenarion I am curious about. The yard markers aren't too significant...scrimmage kick. K1 kicks the ball well past the LOS. R1 catches the ball on the run, takes 3-4 steps and signals fair catch. Clearly by rule an illegal fair catch (as defined in 2-9-5).

Now since everything was legal up until the illegal fair catch, I have an instance according to 2-16-4 where a foul can not cause the live ball to be dead. However, I have a reciever that thinks he has protection under a fair catch. I don't blow the whistle, and he gets knocked into next week. I blow the whistle (to kill it) and I commit an inadvertant whistle.

Thoughs, insights, suggestions?

I don’t believe I’d blow the ball dead in this instance at any level. This isn't like a player who’s not expecting contact and then getting blasted. Plus I think the players are padded enough to withstand any legal contact.
BTW jfurdell.... Good call and explanation on the invalid vs. illegal signal

[Edited by James Neil on Jul 1st, 2003 at 09:43 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1