The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
Why am I not surprised that a coach, "with NFHS rule book firmly in hand", doesn't know that the penalty for IG is five yards (+ LOD), not fifteen?

And on top of that, they got a 15-yard USC penalty that allowed a shorter FG attempt?

Good grief.
Recheck that math ... apparently this USC was the very special 13 yard variety.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Talk about the "blind leading the blind", it's amazing these two coaches made it as far as they have, knowing what they know, or don't know.

Broncos coach Kohl is partially correct in that is is a violation of NFHS 7-5-2-e, in that "a pass intentionally thrown incomplete to save yardage or to conserve time." is an Illegal forward pass, which calls for a 5 yard penalty (not 15 yds) and loss of down (the down is not repeated) and is enforced from the spot of the pass.

The stated exception to this rule states: It is legal to conserve time by intentionally throwing the ball forwardto the ground after receiving a direct hand-to-hand snap.

The key word in this situation is "intentionally" which is always a judgment call make by the covering official, usually the Referee.

Liberty Coach Frigon introduces his own terminology into the equation by creating the term "Pistol Formation" which may exist in his surroundings but does not appear in any rule book. A shovel pass to another back (a fullback) as long as directed forward does constitute a legal forward pass, and unless deliberately thrown to be incomplete would not constitute an illegal forward pass, however, other than the actions of the passer, and possibly the receiver, the Referee has absolutely no way of knowing if the pass is thrown deliberately and intentionally to save either a loss of yardage or to save time, unless of course the coach of the passing team acknowledges that fact, after the game is over.

The Referee apparently judged the action he witnessed, an incomplete forward pass thrown to an eligible receiver behind the line, as not being a deliberate action. The fact that the Broncos received a 15 yard penalty for Unsportsmanlike Conduct, allowing the opponent the opportunity to successfully complete a winning field goal is entirely the responsibility of Coach Kohl for failing to maintain the level of composure required of him, as the adult supervisor of a team of student athletes.

I would suspect the Liberty School Administration and the supervisors of whatever governing body convened the contest, would take serious punitive action against Coach Frigon for acknowledging publicly that he deliberately instructed and encouraged his players to CHEAT by deliberately violating the NFHS rule against throwing an Illegal Forward Pass.
.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2011, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 37
The Chcago Bears QB did a hesitation before his grounding the ball after a hand-to-hand snap a week or so ago which resulted in a 10-second run-off and proved to be the final play of the game. Oops!
__________________
"Because you can referee wrong, make a mistake, but what you can not do is create your own sense of justice and, even worse, invent a very personal application of the rules." Dutch legend (soccer coach) Johan Cruyff
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2011, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Not all Coaches or AD's see circumventing the rules as cheating. You often hear coaches say, it isn't illegal if they don't call it!


If you aint Cheating, You aint Trying, is an old Coaching Adage!

I disagree with the philosphy but I can see the merit in it!
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2011, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Not all Coaches or AD's see circumventing the rules as cheating. You often hear coaches say, it isn't illegal if they don't call it!


If you aint Cheating, You aint Trying, is an old Coaching Adage!

I disagree with the philosphy but I can see the merit in it!
A lot of thieves also think if they ain't stealing it ain't trying, and if they don't get caught it's no a crime. We each get to set our own standards.

Most of the coaches who feel cheating is OK if you get away with it, aren't stupid enough to admit their character deficiency publicly
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2011, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,153
Yeah, same thing.



Of course all the guys in the joint got framed too!

Quote:
Most of the coaches who feel cheating is OK if you get away with it, aren't stupid enough to admit their character deficiency publicly

No but I have heard many of them speak at clinics and they say, hey we teach this technique, it is illegal but it is never called so what is the downside?
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz!
Bobby Knight
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1