The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 15, 2003, 04:42pm
JMN JMN is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 296
OPI?

cmathews,

I think that you have OPI when the eligible A player (who is restricted from the snap) interferes with B's right to play the ball. In your example, would I call OPI? Don't know, would have to see it. I wouldn't call it just because B had some established position, although this could be a factor if A truly had created an advantage by running into B. In my experience, most of these end up being non-foul contact where both players are going for the ball. In this case unless there is obvious advantage, I let the play call itself. Incomplete, no flag.

Just as B can't play the "man", neither can A just play the "man". I believe it's incumbent on both A and B to make a bona fide effort to make a play on the ball to avert a possible interference call. If they are both going for the ball, contact is usually incidental (unless of course, you have an obvious hold or intentional contact).

I still remember on a downfield pass, A and B both had there eyes on the ball, running side by side, they both went up, tangled feet, fell down without any chance of playing the ball. I had a big no call and got BOOED by both sides for missing an obvious DPI and OPI at the same time. It doesn't get any better than that!!

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1