Illegal Formation?
Rule 7-2-3 states:
"of the players of A who are not in their line at the snap only one may penetrate the vertical plane through the waistline of his nearest teammate who is on his line. He must have his hands in position to recieve the ball if it is snapped between the snapper's legs but he is not required to recieve the snap. Any other player(s) must be in legal position as a back."
So..... is it illegal for the QB to line up under the guard and then the snapper shotgun it to another back lined up in the backfield. I would say the QB was breaking the plane of a lineman but was not in "position to recieve the ball if it was snapped between the snapper's legs". We saw this the other night at a junior high game. I was not confident enough to call it, but asked the other officials and they had no idea if it was legal or not.
|