![]() |
|
|||
Here's a doozy for ya
Texas 6man football sub varsity (NCAA rules other than 6man differences).
On a PAT, Team B player gets to the tee/ball before the kicker from Team A and proceeds to boot the ball 30 yards down the field in the opposite direction for no apparent reason. In the ensuing melee, coaches from Team B see the tee fly up and get a glimpse of it, and suggest that the tee used by Team A - which is actually two tees taped together, is illegal. Note that the tees are not stacked, they are taped together side by side, thus they don't technically violate the specs listed in the manual (that I can see, anyway). What the heck is the result of this play? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
OK, but what about the illegal (in NCAA) place kick by B? Or is it legal because it was not preceded by a CoP and the ball was still behind A's line of scrimmage? Could it have scored a point for B? Or, since it's 6-man, 2 points?
Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Sep 09, 2011 at 08:37pm. |
|
|||
Wow what a weird play.
The only thing in the UIL exceptions about the tee is that it can't elevate the ball more than 2" above the ground. This is also illegally kick the ball by Team B and no, it can't score any points.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Illegal kick. The ball remains live because Team A has not kicked it. Team B kicking it does not cause the ball to be dead. If B gains possession of the ball it becomes dead. The holder is the last player from Team A in possession and when the ball is kicked by team B, only the holder can recover to keep the ball live for a possible advance by pass or maybe exchange it with a teammate. If a teammate recovers it, the ball becomes dead (4th down fumble rules). The penalty for the illegal kick is enforced at the previous spot and the Try repeated.
As for the size of the tee. Techincally they could bring a 12 ft. 2 x 4 out there as long as it don't violate the maximum height requirements. There are no other dimensional requirements other than the height. |
|
|||
Quote:
What about this stipulation earlier in the manual, could it be applied? Field Areas ARTICLE 9. a. No material or device shall be used to improve or degrade the playing surface or other conditions and give one player or team an advantage (Exceptions: Rules 2-16-4-b and c). OR Illegal Equipment ARTICLE 7. Illegal equipment includes the following (See Appendix E for additional details): f. Any equipment that could provide an unfair advantage to any player. |
|
|||
Quote:
The equipment rule is not there either. He's not gaining any unfair advantage. That would be more like using a tub of lard on his jersey or putting stickem on his gloves. Nothing to do with a kicking tee. We have bigger fish to fry than worrying about the width of a tee. |
|
|||
Quote:
To invoke 7f, you have to define "unfair" ... and since the definition of tee tells you what is "fair" - and this concoction fits within that definition... there is no reason to rule the "device" as creating an unfair advantage. Tee is legal. The kick is not. Most likely we're having a rekick at half the distance.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Wait a minute, you saying that if I really used a brick as a kicking tee there'd be nothing you could stop that with? Is Fed's the only code that specifies pliable material? Nothing in NCAA about having dangerous items on the field? What if I wanted to kick off a bear trap?
Last edited by Robert Goodman; Fri Sep 16, 2011 at 03:04pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
You don't think that the holder pegging the ball down on a 6"x3" surface is easier to do than if he were trying to peg it down on a 3"x3" surface? It seems inherent to me that it provides an advantage, otherwise why would the guy be doing it?
|
|
|||
I'm with you on that one. The last thing I wanted to be talking about in the 4th quarter of a tight game. I think if I had been the white hat I would have told him to buzz off. But - it did get me thinking. Appreciate all the replies here.
|
|
|||
This actually isn't an illegal kick, but illegally kicking the ball. In the NCAA code, there is a difference. And the ball isn't dead (11 man; under 6 man exceptions the ball is dead IMMEDIATELY since Team A can not score) until the end of the play, not necessarily Team B possession, because it isn't a "kick" but rather, a fumble and loose ball because the holder lost possession of it. Its a 10 yard basic spot foul, but you would enforce from the previous spot. In this case, it would be half the distance.
As Jason said, the dimensions of the tee is irrelevant. Unless the officials perceive the device as being dangerous, and it isn't over 2" (Texas UIL; NCAA by rule its prohibited except on kickoff), we're OK. I have actually seen this -- in an 11 man jr. high game about 4 years ago. Defensive lineman broke through and got to the held ball before the kicker did and kicked it. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
My first media mention! (yes, its a doozy!) | TussAgee11 | Baseball | 13 | Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:14am |
A Doozy of a Rule Question | UMP25 | Baseball | 27 | Sun Sep 04, 2005 10:21am |
Doozy tonight | oppool | Softball | 4 | Sat May 19, 2001 07:57am |