![]() |
4th and 9 from K's 5, punter standing in the end zone, gets a high snap and once having secured the ball, is under a heavy rush. While still in the end zone, he throws the ball to the 15 yard line hash, an area occupied by only R players. The pass falls incomplete.
What are R's choices? |
NFHS: None. the result is a safety no matter what team-R does.
NCAA: Team-B can take a safety or by declining the penalty, the down will count with the ball placed at the previous spot. Thus Team-B takes over on downs 1/goal from the what was the team-A 5 yard line. Yes.. this is one of the many, many rule differences. |
Quote:
NF 8-5-2c “it is a safety when: A player on offence comments any foul for which the penalty is accepted and enforcement is from a spot in his EZ; or throws an illegal forward pass from his EZ and the penalty is declined in a situation which leaves him in possession at the spot of the illegal pass and with the ball having been forced into the end zone by the passing team “ Safety either way. |
Agree with all above.
How long do you think R might need to consider this one? And remember, DEFER is not an option!!:) |
Does NF rules really not give a team the option of refusing a penalty? This seems very strange.
|
Quote:
[Edited by mikesears on Jan 13th, 2003 at 03:03 PM] |
The reason being is that an illegal pass is not classified as a loose ball play, therefore it is a running play that ends in the end zone (the spot of such pass) - always a safety.
|
... and that's why I like the NCAA version better.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10am. |