The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 13, 2003, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by JMN
Agreed. I see where it gets sticky!

So what would we do if:

1) R22 is blocking K19 at the R20. The ball takes a bad bounce away from the B goal line at the R15 and towards the original LOS. It hits R22 in the back as he is blocking K. What do we have if K recovers the ball?

This is a tuff one and it looks like I'm going to have to climb off my fence. A play like this demands that we use our judgment to determine the cause of the touching . The rule (6-2-4) doesn’t say to ignore the touching if R is blocking. It says to” ignore it if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball”
Just the fact that R was blocking at the time doesn’t necessarily mean the touching was caused by K pushing or blocking him. IMHO ….I’d probably award the ball to K on this play.
BTW …its plays like this that they pay us the “Big Bucks” (and Derock the “Really Big Bucks” ;^)

[/B][/QUOTE]
2) Now as the ball is bouncing towards the B goal line, it is surrounded by K getting ready to down the ball. R misjudges the roll and as it comes towards him, is blocked (legally) by K into the ball. K recovers the ball. What do we have? [/B][/QUOTE]
This one sounds like a text book “ignore the touching” R’s ball 1/10 clock on the snap!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1