The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Football (https://forum.officiating.com/football/)
-   -   lets keep them comming (https://forum.officiating.com/football/6882-lets-keep-them-comming.html)

JMN Thu Jan 09, 2003 05:59pm

BigWhistle,

Is the reason that you don't call this a shift because A88 was not moving simultaneously with A22, thus A22 was legally in motion and A88's movement is now immaterial?

This helps in learning the NCAA rules.

bigwhistle Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JMN
BigWhistle,

Is the reason that you don't call this a shift because A88 was not moving simultaneously with A22, thus A22 was legally in motion and A88's movement is now immaterial?

This helps in learning the NCAA rules.

Under NCAA rules, a shift is the movement of 2 or more players simultaneously after the ball has been blown ready for play and before the ball is snapped. As long as only one player at a time was moving not toward the line of scrimmage or simulating the start of the play, there will be no foul.

Ed Hickland Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by James Neil
A 2/2 50. Team A leaves the huddle and the entire team comes to a one second stop. End A88 then goes out along his line and stops. Back A22 then moves backward and the ball is snapped less than one second after end A88 had stopped. The QB muffs the snap at the A48. The ball hits the ground at the A48 and B21 bats the ball, which goes out of bounds at the A46.

all options and dont forget the clock !

NFHS

Did A88 turn toward the LOS? If not, we may have an illegal procedure for A88 not being on the line pointed toward his opponents goal.

When A22 moved the offense had not been set for a full second.

B21 intentional bat mames for double fouls both live ball, replay the down.

The clock is stopped because the ball went out of bounds and it will start on the snap.

HighSchoolWhiteHat Fri Jan 10, 2003 07:32am

Jm,

if a runningback moves backwards thats not motion. thats a false start.(never seen a running back step backwards to start his motion)


if we have a false start we have nothing but a dead ball false start 5 yards back.


if a running back moves and doesn't go in motion before the ball is snapped what do you have? and please don't tell me he can reset.

I still think this play is easy, false start on A22. everything else is wiped out.

HighSchoolWhiteHat Fri Jan 10, 2003 08:44am

blow and throw dead ball 5 yards against the offense 2/7 from the 45 start the clock on the ready for play whistle.

rule 7-2-6 after a huddle or shift all 11 players of A shall come to an ABOSOLUTE stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands,feet or body for at least 1 second before the snap. Penalty on A88 for not being set the full 1 second.

i still think we can have a false start also by A22 because you say back A22 then moves backwards and the ball is snapped. so he moved before the ball was snapped and this (maybe a judgement call) to me is simulating the start of a play which is a false start. the running back moved backwards he never went in motion because the ball was snapped.


Lets try looking at it this way, if a back moves forward (rememeber the back moved just before the snap, he never had time to go in motion)and the ball is snapped do we have a false start or motion? I say false start because he never started his motion. now in canada maybe he can get away with this.

Maybe James Neil could have worded it differntly?
A 2/2 50. Team A leaves huddle and the entire Team comes to a one second stop.End A88 then goes out along his line and stops.( now was the offense set and ready to play when they stopped for that one second? ) how many teams do you see come out to the line and stop, then move to their positions. they only have to be stopped for that 1 second before the ball is snapped.(unless they are already in their stands).A88 then goes out along his line and stops. (thats it A88 is done with his motion now , but he moves before being set for 1 full second, illegal procedure). A22 then moves backwards and the ball is snapped. (A22 moves before the snap and never went in motion, False start) Anything that happens after this doesn't matter.



JMN, you asked , isn't it possible that A22 was beginning to go in motion and just leave it at that. but we can't its not an officials job to read his mind and just think he was going in motion.

anyway A88 was never set so we have iilegal procedure dead ball penatly.

Maybe james neil should have worded this play differntly.



James Neil Fri Jan 10, 2003 09:25am

[

Maybe james neil should have worded this play differntly.


[/B][/QUOTE]

Well if I'd of done that we wouldn't have had this great discussion now would we? 8^)
Getting different feed back and perspective on this and most other plays posted has been very educational. You guys are great and even if I disagree, I get something out of most responses. Even having the Anti-Ref here on this board has helped me. He’s shown just how important it is that we know the rules and our mechanics. (Plus he’s good for helping me to practice keeping my temper in check when he posts about his outlandish officiating "game sense" LOL). For me, this particular forum has become the best place to study and learn without having to put up with all the whacko disgruntled fans posting at the other boards. So with that said , I’m going to see if I can dig up some more stuff to keep us talking ,discussing and debating the game we all love so much !


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1