The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 02, 2003, 03:50am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by ABoselli
On 3rd and 11 from the A 3 yd line, A1 takes a pitch and is immediately hit in his own endzone by B1 who grasps and pulls A1's facemask while tackling him. Before A1 goes down, he fumbles the ball into the field of play and it goes out of bounds at A's 3. A1 then punches B1 and calls him a bad word.

Where's the ball next and what down is it (assuming the A captain isn't a complete nitwit) ?
As a matter of interest, Canadian amateur rules would dictate:

We have fouls by both teams: B UR - facemask (7.3.5), A RP (7.2.2). This is a dual foul (8.6.1), only if both teams accept the penalties (8.6.2a). Let's assume that this happends; then: the POA is at the PLS, or the end of the run, at A's option (8.6.3).

Let's assume that A was tackled in the EZ and committed the RP foul in the EZ. Also, since the ball went OOB in the FoP, the point of origin for the fumble is the EZ. This will force A to apply the penalties at the PLS.

We would go up 15 for the facemask, and then half the distance back to the goal line for the A RP. 11 + 15 = 26, then to the 13. 1st and 10 for A.

Bruce, am I right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1