The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Ed Hickland
Under 3-6-3 the referee has the authority to either stop or start the clock if in his judgement a team is attempting to conserve or consume time illegally.
So, under this rule, a team that is at the fifty yard line with a fourth and thirty to go with two minutes left in the half, can`t just have someone move before the snap and take the five yard penalty, let the ref restart the clock, let it run down and do it again until there is no time left, so they don`t have to punt and give the other team a chance to score?
This is assuming that the clock was still running after the third down play, as in a QB sack.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1